Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome!
Use this guide to search for free or low cost sources to replace or supplement your current textbooks.
Open Textbook Repositories & More
Open textbooks are a great way to make a one-for-one swap with a traditional high-cost textbooks. Open textbooks are free to download and low-cost to print. 

OER Commons
OER Commons LogoOne of the largest repositories of Open Educational Resources on the Web. Includes textbooks, lectures, labs, case studies, activities, and more.

 
Open Textbook Library
Open Textbook Library logoMinnstate participates in this repository hosted by the University of Minnesota. The site encourages users to leave reviews of textbooks to help in the vetting process.


College Open Textbooks
College Open Textbooks logoThis site lists open textbooks that have already been vetted as suitable for use in community colleges by the College Open Textbooks Collaborative.


OpenStax College
OpenStax College logoOpenStax College is an initiative from Rice University that publishes peer-reviewed open textbooks for introductory courses along with additional resources like slides and test banks. OpenStax partners with print-on-demand services to print bound versions at a lower cost than traditional textbooks.  

MERLOT II
MERLOT II logoMERLOT II is an international repository of all kinds of open educational resources including textbooks. The Advanced Search page allows you to limit your search to textbooks written with a lower-division college audience in mind.

OpenTextBookStore (Math) and MyOpenMath
OpenTextBookStore logo

OpenTextBookStore is a list of open textbooks for math courses that have already been vetted for use in college courses.

MyOpenMath is a free online interactive math homework platform aligned to work with many of the texts from OpenTextBookStore.


MIT Open Textbooks
MIT Open Courseware logoThis site lists the open textbooks used in MIT's open courseware program. This can be an especially good resource for STEM courses.

Open Learning Initiative
Open Learning InitiativeThis project from Carnegie Mellon University provides full courses that instructors can incorporate in whole or part into their own courses. The project focuses on engaging students in active learning and providing instructors with meaningful assessment data. 
Minnesota State Open Textbook Resources
Opendora
​Opendora, developed by PALS, is a digital archive for open educational resources that serves as a central repository for Minnesota State faculty and librarians to leverage licensed open educational resources (OER) with the ability to access, load, and share material.


Minnesota State OER Sharepoint
​Minnesota State promotes textbook affordability for students at Minnesota State colleges and universities by supporting and facilitating adoption of open, low-cost, high-quality materials. We strive to do through faculty development, adequate resources, and grants.



Minnesota State OER Twitter
​Stay up to date with activities and projects involving OER in the Minnesota State system.
Library Databases with E-Books
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Salem Press Restricted Resource
Online database of full-text reference e-books on history, health, literature, and science.


ABC-CLIO eBook Collection Restricted Resource
This e-book collection, spun off from the Daily Life Through History database, covers daily life in many time periods and regions of the world, cultural customs, and the histories of particular countries.   

Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis) Restricted Resource
Artemis logoGale Literary Sources searches all these literature resources at once: Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Litfinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, Something About the Author Online, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

eBooks Collection (EBSCOHost) Restricted Resource
eBooks (ebsco)A collection of full text e-books covering a variety of topics. The collection is available 24/7, allowing access to the online version of many popular books.
SIPX: Electronic Reading Lists
SIPX is a web service that manages and distributes electronic reading lists in D2L. It allows faculty to easily assign readings from the Library's collection and beyond while maintaining copyright compliance. It is the most stable way to link to library resources. All faculty have access to the SIPX service.

 

SIPX in a Nutshell

 

 

Tutorial: How to Create a SIPX Reading List (Updated Jan. 2017)



If adding readings from beyond the Library's collection, learn about pricing in SIPX pdf.

Need help? Contact Library faculty Lacey Mamak.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
 

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Linking to Library Content
Linking to Library Resources
Directions for creating stable links to articles and videos found in Normandale Library databases.


Powered by SubjectsPlus