Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles
Use the library's online databases to find all types of articles, from scholarly research articles to magazine and newspaper articles. The databases listed below also allow users to limit searches to articles published in particular countries. If an article you like does not appear in full text, click on the "Find Full Text" link to see if the full text is available in another database.

If you're not sure which database to use, ask a librarian!

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP contains scholarly journal articles as well as newspaper and magazine articles from publications like The Economist.

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.

Newsbank Access World News Restricted Resource
Newsbank logo​Newsbank World provides full-text access to thousands of newspapers from around the world. Users can limit searches to publications from particular regions or countries.

Academic Search Premier
Find Country-Specific Overviews & Statistics

Country Overviews

  • CountryWatch Country Reviews Restricted Resource
    Country Watch logo and linkAn up-to-date source of information on countries of the world. CountryWatch provides both basic statistic and in-depth information on political and social conditions.
  • A to Z the World Restricted Resource
    A to Z the World logoCountry reports for 175 countries include basic geography and political information as well as descriptions of business culture, human rights and religious freedom information, and travel warnings.
  • Statesman's Yearbook
    This book is available in class and in the Library's Reference section: REF  JA51  .S7


Statistical Data and Visualizations

  • NationMaster
    NationMaster logoUsing data compiled from the CIA World Factbook, the United Nations, and the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), NationMaster.com allows users to generate custom tables and graphs comparing statistical data between any two countries.
  • World Bank Databank
    World Bank logoThe Databank is a collection of statistical databases developed by the World Bank. The databases provide economic, gender, health, education, and poverty statistics.
  • UN Data
    This site searches all the UN's statistical databases (e.g. population, health, crime, environment, labor, etc.) at once.
Find Books
The library has many books on different countries and topics. Try searching for your country and/or your concept. If you find a book you like, write down the call number, which is like the book's address, and someone in the library will be happy to help you find the book on the shelf.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Kristin Hall
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
Phone: 952-358-9146
Email: kristin.hall@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).


Powered by SubjectsPlus