Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources for your evaluation essay.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Literature, Film, Radio, or TV Sources
Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis) Restricted Resource
Artemis logoGale Literary Sources searches all these literature resources at once: Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Litfinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, Something About the Author Online, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Salem Literature Restricted Resource
Salem LiteratureThe Salem Literature provides full-text reference coverage of literary themes and prominent authors, as well as analyses of notable books and poetry.
Find Music Sources
Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford Music OnlineExcellent introductions to and overviews of musicians, compositions, styles and other topics in music. Currently allows cross-searching of: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music. We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Musicians & Composers of the 20th Century Restricted Resource
Biographical and critical essays on the men and women who made an impact on music from 1901 to 2000. Every essay contains standard ready-reference top matter offering easy access to biographical information, including the name of the musician as best known, the individual's nationality and musical identity, a brief paragraph explaining the individual's significance in the history of music, birth and death dates, and any additional names the individual might be known as. A section on "Principal Works/Principal Recordings," which lists the individual's major works or recordings by genre, follows.
Find Art Sources
Artstor Restricted Resource
ARTstorArtstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.

 
Find Other Sources - All Topics
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
 


Combined Search

Library Combined Search searches many article databases, online journals, and the Normandale Community College Library catalog.

  
 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus