Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Starting Research and Developing Keywords






















Starting the Research Process Handout
StartingtheResearchProcessv2.pdf pdf

Need help coming up with synonyms for your keywords? Use a thesaurus!
Rogets II: The New Thesaurus Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Contains 35,000 synonyms and over 250,000 cross-references in an easy-to-use format.
Find Reference Materials
Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.



Gale eBooks Restricted Resource
Gale eBooks logoGale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

 
Databases for Journal and News Articles
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
 

Academic OneFile (Gale) Restricted Resource
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.



ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.

Interview Tips
Watch these two short videos about creating effective interview questions:





 
Research Reminders
Google vs. the Library



What is a Journal?



Scholarly vs. Popular Sources
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us! Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email


Libby Merrill
Library Faculty - Circulation, Reference & Instruction
libby.merrill@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian
We're here to help!
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

I-Search Assignment Videos
These videos were created specifically for your I-Search Assignment. They will walk you through various aspects of the research process.

Introduction to Your Library Guide

Starting the Research Process

Reference Sources


Research Process and Advice

Database and Internet Source Evaluation

Database Searching:


 
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf

CAPPSQuestionsHandoutv3.pdf pdf
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Citation Generator
NoodleTools Express Citation Generator - a citation tool that will help you format your sources in MLA, APA, and Chicago. I would highly recommend this citation tool over other web citation tools like EasyBib or many of the auto-citation tools offered by databases. 


Powered by SubjectsPlus