Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources for your assignments.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Reconstruction Documents & Images
Defining Documents in American History: Reconstruction Era (1865–1877) Restricted Resource
Ebook of historical documents.

African American History: Reconstruction Era Restricted Resource
Includes historical documents and images ("primary sources").

Umbra Search
Umbra Search is a specialized search engine that connects you to documents and photographs related to African American history and culture available online in different libraries, museums, and archives.

OPTIONAL
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals, Series 5 Restricted Resource
A collection of Reconstruction Era magazine articles from 1866-1877.
 
Find Encyclopedia Articles
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Combined Search

Combined Search

Library Combined Search searches many article databases, online journals, and the Normandale Community College Library catalog.

 

 

Primary and Secondary Sources
Watch this video from the Minnesota Historical Society.

Remember that secondary sources often republish portions of primary sources within the text of the secondary source.

Civil Rights Movement Assignments
Find Background Information
These sources are a good place to find background information on Civil Rights Movement history. You should not use these for all your sources but to help you find out some basic information about the time and the people involved.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources. Included are sources on American history, world history, historical events and periods, biographies, and more.
Find Primary Sources
There are many websites that contain primary sources from the Civil Rights Movement -- these are documents, photos, letters, and speeches all created during the movement. Explore these links to find more resources.

Civil Rights Digital Library 

Civil Rights Movement Primary Sources (from Guilford College)

Black Civil Rights: Primary Source Collections Online (from Sam Houston State University)

Umbra Search  An online archive of African American historical materials.

Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 (FBI Archive)

Black Liberation Army (FBI archive)
Find Books
Books are a great source for information on the Civil Rights Movement and the organizations active during that time. Try searching the name of your organization or a prominent person in the organization. Ask for help finding the book on the shelf!

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Find Documentaries
Use these resources to find documentaries on the Civil Rights Movement:

Kanopy Streaming Videos Restricted Resource
Stream documentaries and other videos on many subjects. You can browse by subject or use the search box to enter titles, keywords, subjects, suppliers, and filmmakers.

Films On Demand Restricted Resource
Films on DemandFilms On Demand is a streaming video service containing documentaries and other educational films on many different topics. 
Find Civil Rights Event Information
Events A-Z from Civil Rights Digital Library
  1. Civil Rights Movement Veterans Site:
FBI files on Civil Rights Movement (and or Archives Unbound Freedom Riders info)

Also:
Look through the book cart in the library.
Search Gale Virtual Reference Library (above).
Search Credo (above).
Find Civil Rights Movement Veterans
Civil Rights Movement Veterans   A website created by those who participated in the Southern Freedom Movement (1951-1968) to tell their own stories.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

David Vrieze Daniels
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu


Libby Merrill
Library Faculty - Circulation & Instruction
libby.merrill@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off-Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
Linking to Library Resources
Proxy Link Converter for Library Databases
Use to make links to library database content that work from off campus.
Annotated Bibliography
Annotated Bibliographies (UNC) Unrestricted Resource
"This handout will explain why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provide an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describe various types of annotations and styles for writing them, and offer multiple examples of annotated bibliographies in the MLA, APA, and CBE/CSE styles of citation." (from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Annotated Bibliographies (OWL @ Purdue) Unrestricted Resource
"This handout provides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS." Includes links to APA and MLA citation styles as well as links to resources for help with paraphrasing and evaluating resources. (from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue)


Powered by SubjectsPlus