Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Reference Materials
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues such as immigration, abortion, animal rights, biomedical ethics, gun control, gangs, homelessness, etc. ​

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.



Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.


CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
CQCQ Researcher reports provide "in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy." Each CQ Researcher report is researched and written by a journalist and includes a "background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources."
Find Articles
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.


JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.


US Newsstream (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal- Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post.


Minneapolis Star Tribune - Scoped Search via US Newsstream


Artstor Restricted Resource
ARTstorArtstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. ​



 
Still stuck? The Library has lots of databaes. Try looking in this list for more options:

Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
 
Find Minnesota Government and Newspaper Infor
Minnesota Links to the World
The Minnesota Legislative Reference Library compiled this list of links to Minnesota-based state agencies, nonprofits, advocacy groups, and other organizations by topic.


Minnesota Sources (Newsbank)

Minnesota Reflections Unrestricted Resource
Minnesota Reflections, a product of the Minnesota Digital Library, contains more than 80,000 Images/library, maps, and documents from more than 125 of the state's cultural heritage organizations, offering resources on Minnesota history and geography. ​

Looking for more Minnesota resources? Check out our research guide all about Minnesota!
Researching




 
Developing Keywords
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

David Vrieze Daniels

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu


Luke Mosher
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
luke.mosher@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf


Powered by SubjectsPlus