Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Choose Your Topic
There are many ways to select a paper topic.  The three databases below all offer topic selection resources, many on timely, current events-related subjects in their "Browse" sections.  Search there for topics of interest to you.
 
Once you select a topic, you will probably need to narrow your focus.  A specific topic is easier to research because you won't have to plow through huge piles of general information.  After you narrow your topic, you will need to generate keywords, which are the words and phrases you will use to search for information on your topic.  The video below offers guidance on how to narrow your topic and select keywords. 
 

 
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Find Articles
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.

Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
Find More Sources
Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 


Interlibrary Loan
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.

Blank Request Form (StarID login)

Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Luke Mosher
Library Faculty - Reference and Instruction
luke.mosher@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
Evaluate Your Sources
When you use sources found in the Normandale Library, you can be fairly sure they are from credible publishers and authors.  However, when you find sources on the general web, such in a Google search, you will want to evaluate the source for credibility.  Use the guides below to help you with that process. 

Evaluating Internet Resources
Criteria to use when evaluating the quality of an Internet site 

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask
(from UC Berkeley)


 


Powered by SubjectsPlus