Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Research for Fiction Writing
The Library has many resources to help you research for your Fiction Writing class. Research for this class will be different than for a research paper. Explore the links on this page and see where they lead you. Ask questions, if you have them.
Research All Topics
These resources include many encyclopedias and are a great way to get information on almost any topic.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Research in Context Restricted Resource
Research in Context brings together content from the former Discovering Collection, Junior Reference Collection, and InfoTrac Junior Edition. Covers literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history subjects.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Research Other Countries or Cultures
These databases include information on countries and cultures from around the world.

CountryWatch Country Reviews Restricted Resource
Country Watch logo and linkAn up-to-date source of information on countries of the world. CountryWatch provides both basic statistic and in-depth information on political and social conditions.




A to Z the World Restricted Resource
A to Z the World logoCountry reports for 175 countries include basic geography and political information as well as descriptions of business culture, human rights and religious freedom information, and travel warnings.
Look at Primary Sources
Primary sources (documents, photographs, etc.) will give you a unique look at life throughout history.

Minnesota Reflections
Minnesota Reflections, a product of the Minnesota Digital Library, contains more than 80,000 Images/library, maps, and documents from more than 125 of the state's cultural heritage organizations, offering resources on Minnesota history and geography.

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a freely available collection of resources from libraries, archives, and museums.  It includes written works, art, records of American heritage, scientific resources, and primary sources.  Search by theme, location, or era. 
Research Historical Events and Eras
Daily Life through History Restricted Resource
Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.

Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources. Included are sources on American history, world history, historical events and periods, biographies, and more.

Ancient & Medieval History Restricted Resource
Ancient and Medieval HistoryCovering prehistory through the 1500s, Ancient and Medieval History provides coverage of nine civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and Islamic Empire. This database also features biographies, original maps and charts, timelines, and primary sources.
Research from Newspapers
Newspapers are a great source for researching. Read about events as they happen(ed).

New York Times -- Historical (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Full pages and article Images/library displayed in PDF format. Seachable full text back to the first issue.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource
Ethnic News Watch provides full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Newsbank Access World News Restricted Resource
Newsbank logo​Newsbank World provides full-text access to thousands of newspapers from around the world. Users can limit searches to publications from particular regions or countries.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
 
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


Powered by SubjectsPlus