Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Books

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 

General Collection

All kinds of books can be found in the library's general collection. Books in the general collection can be checked out using your student ID card.

Reference Collection

Reference books contain facts and other authoritative information. They are not meant to be read from start to finish. Instead, they can be consulted to find information on a particular topic. Examples of reference books: dictionaries, encyclopedias.

How to Find Books on the Shelf


About Articles and Databases

The library doesn't just have books. There are also lots of other kinds of materials, including articles from publications available electronically from home. The video below explains where these articles come from and how they are organized in the library.




Here are a few sample databases you can use to help you get started:

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.


Databases with newspaper articles:

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.

ProQuest Major U.S. Newspapers Restricted Resource
Search the 5 major U.S. newspapers all at once. Includes New York Times (including the Magazine and Book Review), Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal (including WSJ magazine).

Reference databases:

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica) Restricted Resource
Encyclopedia BritannicaOnline version of the complete Encyclopædia Britannica providing coverage of most subjects. Also provides access to Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Collegiate Thesaurus, and the Britannica Book of the Year.

 

Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Kristin Hall
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
Phone: 952-358-9146
Email: kristin.hall@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Learn About the Library
About the Library
Information about library hours, study rooms, the library research computer lab, and contacting the library.

Library Vocabulary docx

This link downloads a copy of the library vocabulary sheet handed out in class. It is a very helpful list of common terms used in college libraries while doing research.
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Find Films
Find Streaming Videos

The Normandale Library has access to many DVDS that can be viewed in the library (searhc the catalog to find them!). However, we also have access to thousands of movies and videos for streaming in the library and at home. 

The following databases are great for finding videos to stream:

Kanopy Streaming Videos Restricted Resource
Stream documentaries and other videos on many subjects. You can browse by subject or use the search box to enter titles, keywords, subjects, suppliers, and filmmakers.

Films On Demand Restricted Resource
Films on DemandFilms On Demand is a streaming video service containing documentaries and other educational films on many different topics. 

 


Powered by SubjectsPlus