Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find primary and secondary sources for your podcast assignment.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Books
Books usually provide you with substantial information and detail on a topic. Most books also include bibliographies that lead you to other sources related to your topic. Books on historical topics may also contain primary sources, either as excerpts or in their entirety.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Find Articles
To find secondary sources, search for your topic in the following article databases. 

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.

Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Project MuseProvides citations, abstracts, and full text to articles from journals that cover the "fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others".
Find Primary Sources Using Library Databases
The Normandale Library subscribes to many useful databases that contain primary source documents, maps, images, etc.

Ancient & Medieval History Restricted Resource
Ancient and Medieval HistoryCovering prehistory through the 1500s, Ancient and Medieval History provides coverage of nine civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and Islamic Empire. This database also features biographies, original maps and charts, timelines, and primary sources.

Daily Life through History Restricted Resource
Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.



Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources. Included are sources on American history, world history, historical events and periods, biographies, and more.
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
Find Primary Sources Using the General Web
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
Provides access to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

British Library: "Turning the Pages"
Virtual book collection of the British Library.

Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations
Spatial and temporal analyses of civilizations of western Eurasia, as well as original maps illustrating aspects of ancient and medieval civilization.

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
Primary source material from 22 countries. Sites are sorted by country and listed chronologically. Available sources include letters, facsimilies of paintings and photographs, journals, and official documents.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
Digital collections of the libraries of major research universities.

Inquisition Collections: Hesburgh Libraries of Notre Dame
Several hundred items, from printed volumes to unique manuscripts and images, on the general theme of inquisition.

Open Domesday
Digital copy of the Domesday Book, including geographic and biographic information.

Perseus Digital Library
Primary and secondary sources from a variety of historical time periods (Ancient Greece and Rome, Renaissance, etc.).

Pompeii Bibliography and Mapping Project
A full-text repository and a Geographical Information System (GIS) of the ancient city of Pompeii.

World Digital Library
WDL makes available significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.


Powered by SubjectsPlus