Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources on the relocation and internment of Japanese Americans during World War II.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Other Web Sources

Densho
"Densho's mission is to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II ... We offer these irreplaceable firsthand accounts, coupled with historical
images and teacher resources, to explore principles of democracy and promote equal justice for all."

  • Densho encyclopedia: Search specific camps, people and places using a Ctrl + F browser search. 

 

Smithsonian Exhibits


 
Database Articles
Historical Newspapers: New York Times Restricted Resource
To find a newspaper article written from this time period, choose "Advanced Search." Select a "Specific Date Range" (ex. 1942-1945). Use one or more relevant search terms, such as the name of a specific camp.

American History
This database contains academic and peer-reviewed journal articles in the discipline of history.  Search by keyword (ex. Japanese internment) to find relevant articles. 

Daily Life through History Restricted Resource
Under "Browse Topics," select "World at War," then "Japanese Internment."
Books & Films
Book Search
Suggested subject heading: Japanese Americans > Evacuation and Relocation, 1942-1945

Films On Demand Restricted Resource
Suggested titles: Sleeping Tigers: The Asahi Baseball Story, Jimmy Murakami: Non Alien, TEDTalks: George Takei -- Why I Love a Country that Once Betrayed Me

Kanopy Streaming Videos
Suggested titles: Meeting at Tule Lake, To Be Takei, The Red Pines, Rabbit in the Moon
Photographs
Ansel Adams' Photographs of Japanese American Internment
Contains 209 photographs from Ansel Adams' 1943 visit to Manzanar War Relocation Center in California.

JARDA: Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives

Published by the University of California, this site contains photographs organized into four main categories: People, Places, Daily Life, and Personal Experiences.

Primary Source Photographs from the Japanese American Internment
Contains primary source photographs, each with descriptive information (date, place, etc. of image)
I Am An American; Oakland, CA, 1942
Dorothea Lange
Library of Congress
Mess Line, Noon, Manzanar Relocation Center

Ansel Adams
Library of Congress
School Children, Manzanar Relocation Center

Ansel Adams
Library of Congress
Santa Anita Reception Center, CA

Russell Lee
Library of Congress


Powered by SubjectsPlus