Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Topics and Keywords
Choosing a research topic can take a bit of trial and error. After choosing a topic, you may need to refine it as you start your research. Watch the video below from North Carolina State University Library to understand the research cycle.





Refining Your Topic
Use this guide from Golden Gate University for addtional tips and information for refining your topic. 

After choosing a topic, you need to generate keywords to use to search the database. Think of synonyms and alternate terms for you topic that people writing on this topic might use. Think of terms that are:
1. Synonyms or alternate terms
2. Broader ideas
3. Narrower ideas
4. Related ideas

Watch this video from the library at California State University at San Bernardino to see how to turn your topic into keywords to search the library databases with.

Find Books
Book Search Unrestricted Resource

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Reference Sources

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues.

Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource
Points of ViewPoints of View Reference Center contains issue overviews and controversial essays on multiple sides of a current issue.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
CQCQ Researcher report is dedicated to a single topic and is researched and written by a journalist. Each report includes background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of further reading.
Articles - Newspapers, Magazines, Journals


ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.





Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.


Combined Search Unrestricted Resource

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 

 
 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Luke Mosher
Library Faculty - Reference and Instruction
luke.mosher@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus