Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Information on Countries and Cultures
The library has a list of databses divided up by topic area, Article Databases and More. To find articles on countries, choose the Countries and Cultures topic.

A to Z the World Restricted Resource
A to Z the World logoCountry reports for 175 countries include basic geography and political information as well as descriptions of business culture, human rights and religious freedom information, and travel warnings.



CountryWatch Country Reviews Restricted Resource
Country Watch logo and linkAn up-to-date source of information on countries of the world. CountryWatch provides both basic statistic and in-depth information on political and social conditions.
Includes Country Reviews for each of 192 countries comprise a 50-100 page report covering the demographic, historical, political, economic, business and environmental background and contemporary issues facing each country.
Find Information on a Religion
There are a few different places to find information on religions. The databases you used to find inforamtion on different countries will have some information on what the dominate religions of that country are.

To find information on a specific religion, you can consult print and electronic books, print or electronic encyclopedias, articles from academic journals, magazines and newspapers.
Books
Books provide thorough overviews, backgrounds and in-depth information. To find out what books Normnadald Library has the religion you are researching search the Normandale Library Catalog.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Encyclopedias
Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica) Restricted Resource
Encyclopedia BritannicaOnline version of the complete Encyclopædia Britannica providing coverage of most subjects. Also provides access to Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Collegiate Thesaurus, and the Britannica Book of the Year.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.
 
Articles
Many of Normandale Library datbases search a variety of newspapers, magazines and journals at one time. Some databases search these sources in multidiscipline areas. Begin with the two databases highlighted here.

General OneFile Restricted Resource
General OneFile logoSearch for information in mainstream, popular, specialized, and scholarly journals, 5 major newspapers, and 89 wire services.
Note: 1980 - present

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 


Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
Cite Your Sources (Chicago)
Chicago Quick Guide
A guide to Chicago-style citations (both footnote-bibliography and author-date). Each example shows a full note, shortened note, and bibliography entry.

Creating a Chicago-style Bibliography
This page explains how to format and write a Chicago-style bibliography. This other page on the website shows how to insert and shorten footnotes, and how to cite the same resource multiple times.


Powered by SubjectsPlus