Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Research for Your Paper

Long Paper Assignment

The following resources will help you with your paper:

Environmental Information:

Use online encyclopedias to find background information and definitions on your topic. These resources include encyclopedias (better than Wikipedia!) that have been put online for you to use.

Salem Science Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem Science provides full-text coverage of reference books on earth science, energy, the environment, and more. Use the search box on the left side or click on a book title (below the search) to browse the online books.
 

Articles: 

Use these library databases to find articles on your topic. A database is like a search engine for articles. But many of these articles are not available on the open internet.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

General Science Collection Restricted Resource
General Science CollectionA collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.

 

Find Research for Your Lecture

Lecture Assignment:

The library has a number of resources that will help you with your lecture:


Country and Cultural Information:

CountryWatch Country Reviews Restricted Resource
Country Watch logo and linkAn up-to-date source of information on countries of the world. CountryWatch provides both basic statistic and in-depth information on political and social conditions. This database includes Country Reviews, which are 50-100 page reports covering the demographic, historical, political, economic, business and environmental background and contemporary issues facing each country. To find your country, use the drop down menu in the upper-right corner, labelled Quick Links.

A to Z the World Restricted Resource
A to Z the World logoCountry reports for 175 countries include basic geography and political information as well as descriptions of business culture, human rights and religious freedom information, and travel warnings.

After selecting a coutry, click on PDF Report to view all information about the country and to print or save the report.
Find Research for Both Assignments

More Information:

These library resources may be helpful for either of your assignments.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more. Use the links on the left side to browse categories. Subject categories to consider: Nation and World, Social Science, Environment, and Science. You can also use the search box at the top.

Films on Demand: Geography Restricted Resource This database includes documentary films on many subjects. This link will take you to the Geography section. You can also click on Collections at the top to explore other subjects.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal. Click on Advanced Search (under the search box) to create a more specific search. Select a subject, such as Geography or Environmental Studies, to narrow your search.

Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 
Be specific when using Combined Search. After searching, use the limits and filters on the left side to refine your search even more.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Find Websites
Some websites are better than others when it comes to finding research. Here are some more credible websites that may be helpful for your assingments:
  • Science.gov: Information available from the United States science departments.
  • CIA World Factbook: Information on countries around the world from the CIA.
  • Environmental Protection Agency
    Website of the US Environmental Protection Agency. Includes information on many aspects of environmental science.
  • World Bank Data: Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
 
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
Cite Your Sources (Chicago)
Chicago Quick Guide
A guide to Chicago-style citations (both footnote-bibliography and author-date). Each example shows a full note, shortened note, and bibliography entry.

Creating a Chicago-style Bibliography
This page explains how to format and write a Chicago-style bibliography. This other page on the website shows how to insert and shorten footnotes, and how to cite the same resource multiple times.
Research Reminders
A few, final things about research:
  • Be patient. Research takes time. You will not find everything you need on the first try or in the first database.
  • If you don't find many sources when you search a database, try changing your search words. Synonyms or related words will help you find more information.
  • Ask a librarian if you need help!


Powered by SubjectsPlus