Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias contain short but comprehensive summaries of broad topics and are a great place to start research.

Science E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
This collection of reference e-books covers a broad range of science topics including biotechnology, chemistry, computer sciences, space sciences, and more.

Credo Reference -- Science Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference -- Science includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, and more in the area of science.  The titles in Credo Reference are from over eighty of the world's leading academic publishers. Credo's collections are continuously updated to reflect the most relevant, up-to-date content.

Salem Science Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem Science provides full-text coverage of reference books on earth science, energy, the environment, and more.
 
Articles--Scholarly Journals, Magazines, News
Magazine articles and news articles will focus on narrow topics and be written by non-experts for a general audience.

Articles from scholarly journals contain original research on narrow topics and are written by experts for an academic audience. 


Science Reference Center Restricted Resource
Science Reference Center logo and linkScience Reference Center contains full text science-oriented content – academic journal articles, magazine articles, science encyclopedias, and images.


General Science Collection Restricted Resource
General Science CollectionA collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.  It includes popular scientific magazines like Scientific American and peer-reviewed journals like Nature and Science.


Health Reference Center - Academic Restricted Resource
Health Reference Center Academic logoSearch for articles on medicine, nursing and allied health.


US Newsstream (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal- Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post.

 
Find Books
Books cover broad topics in great depth. For most topics, you will not need to read an entire book; you can often find a single chapter on your topic. Use the table of contents or index to see what topics are covered in a book.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


Library Catalog Search - use this search if the above search is broken.
Choosing and Using Keywords
Choosing and Using Keywords
If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.

  

Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several library databases to find all the information you need.
 
Ask a Librarian *
Questions? Ask us! Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

  
 


Luke Mosher
Reference & Instruction Librarian
luke.mosher@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf


Powered by SubjectsPlus