Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles

Search Databases (Many Journals)

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers. Be sure to limit to peer-reviewed journals, full text, and date range of 2012-2019.


JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal. Use the subject limiters to limit to sociology (left side of results list) and date range of 2012-2019.




Search and Browse Individual Journals


 
Find Books
Book Search Unrestricted Resource

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Choose a Topic
Choosing a research topic can take a bit of trial and error. After choosing a topic, you may need to refine it as you start your research. Watch the video below from North Carolina State University Library to understand the research cycle.

Developing Keywords
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Luke Mosher

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
luke.mosher@normandale.edu



David Vrieze Daniels

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources
ASA Quick Guide
A guide to citations in ASA style, based on the American Sociological Association (ASA) Style Guide, 5th edition. 

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

Chicago Manual of Style Guide (OWL Purdue)
A guide to the Chicago citation style, based on the Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition).
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf


Powered by SubjectsPlus