Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Your Science Article
Use these library databases to find your article from a science-related journal or magazine.

Science Magazine Restricted Resource
Science Magazine / AAASOnline version of the journal Science published by the AAAS.


Science Reference Center Restricted Resource
Science Reference Center logo and linkScience Reference Center contains full text science-oriented content – academic journal articles, magazine articles, science encyclopedias, and images.

General Science Collection Restricted Resource
General Science CollectionA collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.

If you have a health related topic try this database:

Health Reference Center - Academic Restricted Resource
Health Reference Center Academic logoSearch for articles on medicine, nursing and allied health.

Still stuck? Try this general database but you will need to check to make sure the journal is scientific.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
Find Your News Article
Find your news article in one this database:

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.
Find Your Other Source
Try searching one or more of the following places to find more sources on your topic:

TED Talks
 
Lectures given on many different topics.

Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.

Films On Demand
Films on DemandFilms On Demand is a streaming video service containing documentaries and other educational films on many different topics. 
Streaming videos (documentaries) on many topics, including science, engineering, and medicine.

EurekAlert!
Science news articles from many places: universities, journals, research organizations, etc.

PLOS Blog Network
Blog posts from scienctists at PLOS and elsewhere.

 
Research Help
From Idea to Library, from North Carolina State University
How information gets published.



How to Identify Scholarly Journal Articles, from Cornell University Libraries.



 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Mike Rybak
Reference and Instruction Librarian
mike.rybak@normandale.edu
 
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus