Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources for your speech.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Choose a Topic
Choosing a research topic can take a bit of trial and error. After choosing a topic, you may need to refine it as you start your research. The key to choosing and researching any topic it to find something that is neither too broad or too narrow. If your topic is too broad, you may find too many articles and books. If your topic is too narrow, you may not find enough research.

To help you understand the research cycle and how to choose an appropriate topic, watch the video below from North Carolina State University Library.

Find Background Information
Reference sources generally contain broad overviews and quick facts. They are a good place to start your research, especially when you are still getting familiar with a new topic.  

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


Need more help?  Watch this video tutorial (3 minutes, 40 seconds) on searching for books in the Library's catalog.
Find Articles
The library has many article databases. Databases are like a search engine for articles. This list includes just a few to get you started with your research.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues such as immigration, abortion, animal rights, biomedical ethics, gun control, gangs, homelessness, gambling, homosexuality, human rights, Islam, the Middle East, and racism.

Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.

Need more help?  Watch this video tutorial (11 minutes, 10 seconds) on searching in article databases.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Kristin Hall
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
Phone: 952-358-9146
Email: kristin.hall@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).


Powered by SubjectsPlus