Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Books
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Encyclopedias and subject dictionaries in this collection of e-books allow you to find background information and definitions about your research topic.  Select the "Religion" link in the purple box to browse e-books relevant to your topic.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


The following Subject Headings will lead to you all of the items in the Normandale Library on a particular religion.  You may browse through these selections or further narrow your results by topic, date, format, etc. 
 
Find Articles
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.
Find Web Resources
The following Internet sites offer high quality, reliable information. 

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Unrestricted Resource
A "dynamic" reference work, with each entry maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.

Adherents.com
Collection of over 41,000 adherent statistics and religious geography citations. Statistics and for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, and movements.

BBC World Service: Your Guide to World Religions
Brief descriptions of major religions and useful links.

Hinduism Today

Internet Sacred Texts Archive
Largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet. The site is dedicated to religious tolerance and scholarship, and has the largest readership of any similar site on the web.

Online Catholic Encyclopedia
The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.

Shambala Sun
A Buddhist publication from California.

Virtual Religion Index
Analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites. Arrangement is topical and covers such aspects of religious studies as archaeology, sociology, psychology, philosophy, as well as major world religious traditions.
Choosing Keywords
Ask a Librarian
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.


Powered by SubjectsPlus