Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to locate research materials for your Analytical Project.  Be sure to ask a librarian if you need additional help. 
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
  • Reference Collection is made up of encyclopedias and subject dictionaries (Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America, etc.) that give brief entries on people and events.  Browsing through books in the reference collection is a great way to generate topic ideas for your project. Note: Reference books can only be used in the Library.
  • General Collection is the majority of books at the Normandale Library.  Books may be checked out for three weeks and renewed twice.
Find Articles
Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 


JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.





Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.


ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.

Historical Newspapers: New York Times Restricted Resource
Full page and full article images from the New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 to 4 years ago. Full indexing is available for articles, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Find Films
Kanopy Streaming Videos Restricted Resource
Films On Demand Restricted Resource
Films on DemandFilms On Demand is a streaming video service containing documentaries and other educational films on many different topics. 
Find Articles by Journal Title
Journal Title Search

If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.

 

Examples: Out, GLQ, Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide, Lesbian/Gay Law Notes
Reminders and Tips
Picking Your Topic IS Research from North Carolina State University



What are the library databases and which one should I use? from Northeastern Illinois University



Tips and Tricks: Phrase Searching from North Carolina State Univeristy

Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

librarian Lacey
Lacey Mamak
Electronic Resources/
Reference & Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf
Find Primary Sources
Primary sources can give a richness to your research by giving your sources from the time period you are researching.

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a freely available collection of resources from libraries, archives, and museums.  It includes written works, art, records of American heritage, scientific resources, and primary sources.  Search by theme, location, or era. 

New York Public Library Digital Library Collection
The Digital Library Collections provide the public with digital versions of books, manuscripts and photographs, representing a growing body of primary source material.


Powered by SubjectsPlus