Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your Evolution project.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
General Reference Materials
Use these databases for general information on your general topic for the evolution project. 

Science E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
This collection of reference e-books covers a broad range of science topics including biotechnology, chemistry, computer sciences, space sciences, and more.

Credo Reference -- Science Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference -- Science includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, and more in the area of science.  The titles in Credo Reference are from over eighty of the world's leading academic publishers. Credo's collections are continuously updated to reflect the most relevant, up-to-date content.

Science Reference Center Restricted Resource
Science Reference Center logo and linkScience Reference Center contains full text science-oriented content – academic journal articles, magazine articles, science encyclopedias, and images.

 
Science Journals
Use these databases for more specific searches for your narrow topic. Generally, you will search for your general topic AND narrow topic. For example, artificial selection AND domestic dogs.

BioOne Restricted Resource
BioOneSearch and access full text and full image articles from over 60 scholarly journals about biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.


JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.


Medical Database (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Contains over 1,000 titles, with more than 910 medical titles in full text with abstracts and indexing from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE. Covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including cardiovascular diseases, pediatrics, neurology, respiratory diseases, dentistry, anesthesiology, and others. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, and photos.

Combined Search Unrestricted Resource

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 
Search the Library Catalog
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Evaluate Source Credibility
Source credibility: evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf
Research Reminders
  • Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several of these databases to find all the information you need.
  • If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.
Choosing and Using Keywords
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Luke Mosher
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
Phone: 952-358-9345
Email: luke.mosher@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Cite Your Sources!
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.


Powered by SubjectsPlus