Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find primary sources for your assignment.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Primary Sources in Databases
Many library databases contain primary sources. Use the following databases to help you search for primary sources.

Ancient & Medieval History Restricted Resource
Ancient and Medieval HistoryCovering prehistory through the 1500s, Ancient and Medieval History provides coverage of nine civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and Islamic Empire. This database also features biographies, original maps and charts, timelines, and primary sources.

Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources. Included are sources on American history, world history, historical events and periods, biographies, and more.

Daily Life through History Restricted Resource
Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.

New York Times -- Historical (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Full pages and article Images/library displayed in PDF format. Seachable full text back to the first issue.

Artstor Restricted Resource
ARTstorArtstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.

Gale Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource
Student Resources in Context logoCovering history, literature, science, social studies, this database provides reference material, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts.


Find more database options here: Primary Sources Databases
Here you will find a list of online databases to help you find primary source documents, images, newspapers, photographs, transcripts, maps and more.
Find Primary Sources in Books
Books usually provide you with substantial information and detail on a topic. Most books also include bibliographies that lead you to other sources related to your topic. Books on historical topics may also contain primary sources, either as excerpts or in their entirety.

History E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
A collection of e-books covering both American and world history topics. Many of these e-books contain primary sources. Select a title and look at the table of contents for primary sources.

American Decades Primary Sources
REF E169.1 .A64752 2004 10 vol. Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Each volume of American Decades Primary Sources includes approximately 200 full or excerpted primary sources in 160-170 entries from the period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from the decade.

Milestone Documents in World History
Print Location: REF D5 .M54 2010 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Key documents from all important world cultures are included, from the ancient Near East and ancient Egypt to the Greek and Roman Empires, medieval Islam, Renaissance Europe, and modern Africa and Asia. Constitutions, speeches, letters, acts, treaties, and legal cases are all covered.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Find Primary Sources on the Internet
Use the internet to find primary sources. There are many websites that contain primary sources which can be a great starting point for finding sources. The following list of websites all contain primary sources.
 

World History, pre-1450:


Pompeii Bibliography and Mapping Project
A full-text repository and a Geographical Information System (GIS) of the ancient city of Pompeii.

Inquisition Collection: Hesburgh Libraries of Notre Dame
Several hundred items, from printed volumes to unique manuscripts and images, on the general theme of inquisition.

Open Doomsday
Digital copy of the Domesday Book, including geographic and biographic information.

Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations
Spatial and temporal analyses of civilizations of western Eurasia, as well as original maps illustrating aspects of ancient and medieval civilization.

Perseus Digital Library
Primary and secondary sources from a variety of historical time periods (Ancient Greece and Rome, Renaissance, etc.).
 

General World History:

World Digital Library
WDL makes available significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The collection includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs from 1200 BCE - 2000 CE.

HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital collections of the libraries of major research universities.

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
The Avalon Project provides access to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Includes documents from 3000 BCE - 21st Century.

World Religions Photo Library
World Religions Photo Library specialises in the major faiths of Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism, Judaism and Sikhism - places of worship, rites of passage and sacred sites. Stock also includes minority religions, ancient and modern cults, sacred foods, festivals plus ecclesiastical and votive objects.

British Library Online Gallery
Includes 30,000 items from the British library, including a wide variety of primary sources: maps, books, and photographs.

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
A wealth of primary source material from 48 countries (plus Vatican City). Sites are sorted by country. Available sources include letters, facsimilies of paintings and photographs, journals, and official documents.

Harvard University Libraries Open Collections Program
The Open Collections Program "offers new, virtual collections of thematically linked material selected from numerous Harvard repositories. Each collection is easily searchable on the web." Collections include: Islamic Heritage Project, Expeditions and Discoveries, Immigration to the United States, and Women Working.


American History:

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a freely available collection of resources from libraries, archives, and museums.  It includes written works, art, records of American heritage, scientific resources, and primary sources.  Search by theme, location, or era. 

New York Public Library Digital Library Collection
The Digital Library Collections provide the public with digital versions of books, manuscripts and photographs, representing a growing body of primary source material.

Library of Congress
Contains approximately 12 million records representing books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials. Also, provides access to many primary sources from American history, including maps, historic newspapers, manuscripts, and photographs.

The National Security Archive: The Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II: A Collection of Primary Sources
The Archive serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States. The Archive also collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act.

American Memory
Provides "a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections."

Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 (FBI Archive) Restricted Resource
Materials from the FBI Library about the 1961 Freedom Rides, a civil rights movement action against racial segregation on buses in the South.

American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism Restricted Resource
Materials from the FBI Library about the American Indian Movement (AIM) which was formed in 1968.


Black Liberation Army (FBI archive) Restricted Resource
Materials from the FBI Library about the Black Liberation Army (BLA) which operated from 1970 to 1981.


Umbra Search
Umbra Search is a specialized search engine that connects you to documents and photographs related to African American history and culture available online in different libraries, museums, and archives.

 

Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email


Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Find More Primary Sources
Need more options? Check out one of these guides from libraries around the country:

World History Sources
A list of primary source websites, collected by George Mason University.

Guide to Online Primary Sources
Contains many links to online sources, from the University of California, San Diego. Note: some sites are only available to UCSD.

Primary Sources
Guide to primary sources on the internet, from Arizona State Univeristy.

Internet Sites with Primary Sources
Focuses on American history. From Bowling Green State University.
Related Guides
Looking for Primary Sources on Minnesota history? Check out this guide for finding Minnesota-specific information:
Minnesota Resources


Powered by SubjectsPlus