Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Argumentative and Pro/Con Articles
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues such as immigration, abortion, animal rights, biomedical ethics, gun control, gangs, homelessness, etc.

Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource
Points of ViewPoints of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
CQCQ Researcher reports provide "in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy." Each CQ Researcher report is researched and written by a journalist and includes a "background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources."
Find Reference Materials
Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.



Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.


 
Subject Specific Resources
Modern World History Restricted Resource
World history from the mid-15th century to the present.  

History E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
A collection of e-books covering both American and world history topics.

Social Sciences E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
This large e-book collection includes books on a wide range of social issues.

Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis) Restricted Resource
Artemis logoGale Literary Sources searches all these literature resources at once: Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Litfinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, Something About the Author Online, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
 
Find Articles - General Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 

 
Search (almost) Everything, books + articles
Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 
Developing Keywords
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

David Vrieze Daniels

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf


Powered by SubjectsPlus