Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your Position Paper assignment.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Explore Topics
Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
 
Image Focused Databases

Artstor Restricted Resource
ARTstorArtstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.

Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Project MuseProvides citations, abstracts, and full text to articles from journals that cover the "fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others".

Library of Congress: Documenting America
The photographs in the Farm Security Administration/Office of War Information Photograph Collection form an extensive pictorial record of American life between 1935 and 1944.

City of San Francisco Museum
The museum page on Dorothea Lange's pictures at Raphael Weill.
Social Context

Definintion:

The setting in which something occurs. We all act in a certain way based on cultural norms. For example, I would behave differently around a group of friends than I would around a classroom of students. These norms help us relate to others giving us rules and laws that all can follow. They are almost always considered positive, but can sometimes affect societies and groups in negative ways. (Think of Nazi Germany, Stalinist Russia, US internment of the Japanese) 

Questions:

  • How did their everyday lives change?
  • How did this affect their education?
  • How did it change their family unit? 
  • How were their social structures changed?


Helpful Databases
 

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.

Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources. Included are sources on American history, world history, historical events and periods, biographies, and more.
Historical Context

Definition: 

Historical context reflects the time in which something takes place or was created and how that influences the way you interpret it. In other words, it is the events that took place around something which help you to understand that thing.  (https://web.stanford.edu/group/arts/nicaragua/student/mural/glossary.html )


Questions to Ask:

  • What was going on in the world?
  • In what type of society did the event take place?
  • Where did the ideas for the event come from?
  • Who was involved?
  • What would the people involved in the event have to gain or lose?
  • How was life for those involved different after the event compared to prior to the event?
Search the Library Catalog
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Ask a Librarian
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email



David Vrieze Daniels

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources!
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).


MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.


 


Powered by SubjectsPlus