Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Choosing a Topic
Sometimes the hardest part of researching is getting started and choosing a topic. Watch this video from North Carolina State University to find out more about choosing a topic:

Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


Subject Headings: Try these subjects to find books.
Conflict management
Dispute resolution (law)
Mediation
Peace
Negotiation


Classic Books in Dispute Resolution and Mediation*
Bercowitch, Jacob. Social Conflicts and Third Parties. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1984.
Blalock, Humbert M. Power and Conflict: Towards a General Theory. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1989.
Fisher, Roger, Elizabeth Kopelman, and Andrea Kupfer Schneider. Beyond Machiavelli: Tools for Coping with Conflict. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1994.
Moore, Christopher W. The Mediation Process: Practical Strategies for Resolving Conflict. 2nd ed. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1996.

*Note: if one of these books is not available in the Normandale Library use the Interlibrary Loan information on the right to request the book from another library.
Find Articles in Databases
If you don't have a particular author or title in mind, try searching in a database by subject or topic:

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal. This database contains


ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.

Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 


Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
 
Databases do not understand sentences or "natural language". We have to use keywords -- the main words of our topics -- when searching. Here are some example keywords to use in searching. Mix and match them to find more articles. (Note: this is not an exhaustive list!)

dispute resolution
conflict resolution
conflict management
negotiation
Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) examples: facilitation, negotiation, mediation, arbitration
restorative Justice
peace Circles
victim-Offender Reconciliation Programs (VORP)
truth and Reconciliation commissions
peer mediation (especially in schools)
 

For more on searching for keywords in databases, watch this video from Norwich University:
Find Specific Articles
Use the library's Journal Finder, to find a specific article from the list below. A bibliography from a book or different article is also a good way to find specific articles.

Journal Title Search

If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.

 

 

Classic Articles in Dispute Resolution
Aubert V. "Competition and Dissensu: Two Types of Conflict and Conflict Resoluation." Journal of Conflict Resolution 7 (1963): 26-32.
Barsky, A.E. "When Advocates and Mediators Negotiate." Negotiation Journal 9 (1993) 115-122; 273-274.
Lang, Michael, ed. "Transformative Approaches to Mediation". Special Issue. Mediation Quarterly 13(4) (1996).
Find Even More Sources!
Bibliographies are a great way to find more books and articles. A specialized bibliography will contain a list of resources on a particular topic. Use the links below to find bibliographies related to dispute resolution, peacebuilding, and negotiation. Each bibliography contains books and articles; you can use the library catalog and databases to search for them.

Note: Bibliographies are often best used for browsing. That is, you will not search on these websites. You will explore the resources listed and then search for those resources through the library's catalog and/or databases.

Bibliography of books on alternative dispute resolution (ADR)
A bibliography of dispute resolution from Boston Law Collaborative 
Conflict Transformation and Peacebuilding (bibliography)
National Center on Dispute Resolution in Education Bibliography

 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
 
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Find Books and Articles from Other Libraries
Interlibrary Loan
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
Find Materials by Authors
Try searching for books or articles by author.

Prominent Authors in the field:
Azar, Edward E.
Bercowitch, Jacob.
Blalock, Hubert M.
Boulding, Kenneth
Burton, John.Bush, Robert A.
De Bono, Edward
Kolb, Deborah
Pruitt, Dean G.
Kriesberg, Louis
Lang, Michael
Menkel-Meadow, Carrie
Moore, Christopher W.
Pruit, Dean G.
Rubin, Jeffrey Z.


Powered by SubjectsPlus