Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources for your research assignments.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Sources
Broad Overviews of a Topic

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.


CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
CQCQ Researcher reports provide "in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy." Each CQ Researcher report is researched and written by a journalist and includes a "background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources."


Pro/Con Argumentative Essays

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues such as immigration, abortion, animal rights, biomedical ethics, gun control, gangs, homelessness, etc.

Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource
Points of ViewPoints of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.

Articles - Newspaper, Magazine, Academic Journals

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.


Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.


ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.


Business Sources

Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource
Business Insights: Essentials logoBusiness Insights: Essentials provides access to company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodical articles.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
Business Source PremierBusiness Source Premier covers all aspects of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics, industry and market research reports. 4,500 titles indexed with over 3,600 available with full text. Includes peer-reviewed, scholarly publications, searchable references; trade journals, and monographs.

Books

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 

 
Still stuck? The Library has lots of databaes. Try looking in this list for more options:

Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
 
Combined Search
Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 


Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf
Research Reminder Videos
Choosing and Using Keywords. From California State University, San Bernardino
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Kristin Hall
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
Phone: 952-358-9146
Email: kristin.hall@normandale.edu

Luke Mosher
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
Phone: 952-358-9345
Email:
luke.mosher@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus