Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
In-person Class: Scholarly Articles
Scholarly journals, also called peer-reviewed journals or academic journals, contain articles written by experts in their fields. They will be complex, in-depth, and contain lots of references.

PsycARTICLES PsycArticles contains articles published in academic journals about psychology. Remember to use the Age Group and Methodology limiters (on the left side of the results list).

PubMed/MEDLINE PubMed is a database with articles on life sciences and biomedical topics. Be sure to limit your searches to full-text or full-text free (on the left side of the results list) so you can view the articles you find.
Online Class: Sandwich Generation
For this assignment, you will be researching the sandwich generation based on 1 of 5 roles. I've grouped databases based on these roles and what types of informaiton you'll be looking for.

This encyclopedia article on the sandwich generation will be a great starting point: click here.

Databases useful to all groups:
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.


PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource
PsycARTICLES logoProvides "full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists."

1. United States Lobbyist. Bacground and general aspects of the sandwich generation in the U.S, including history, forecasts, statistics. Sociopolitical view.

Note: navigate to the United States page for the below 2 databases:
A to Z the World Restricted Resource
A to Z the World logoCountry reports for 175 countries include basic geography and political information as well as descriptions of business culture, human rights and religious freedom information, and travel warnings.

CountryWatch Country Reviews Restricted Resource
Country Watch logo and linkAn up-to-date source of information on countries of the world. CountryWatch provides both basic statistic and in-depth information on political and social conditions.


Pew Research Center - a public, non-partison think tank that studies U.S. social issues.
 

2. Cultural Researcher. Investigate how nations and cultures are navigating the sandwich generation. You can choose 1 country or multiple. Anthropological view.
A to Z the World Restricted Resource
A to Z the World logoCountry reports for 175 countries include basic geography and political information as well as descriptions of business culture, human rights and religious freedom information, and travel warnings.


CountryWatch Country Reviews Restricted Resource
Country Watch logo and linkAn up-to-date source of information on countries of the world. CountryWatch provides both basic statistic and in-depth information on political and social conditions.


Daily Life through History Restricted Resource
Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.  Note - Look specifically at "A New Millenium, 1991-present," which has info on the daily lives of families for China, Russia, Vietnam, and Islamic countries. Within those pages, the section you want is "Domestic Life."

3. Healthcare Professional. Medical aspects, as well as help you can provide as a medical professional. Medical viewpoint.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database Restricted Resource
Full text articles from over 900 nursing and allied health publications.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text Restricted Resource
CINAHL PlusSearch 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937 covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and consumer health. CINAHL includes health care books, dissertations, standards of practice, and evidence-based care sheets.

PubMed/MEDLINE Unrestricted Resource
PubMed contains citations to articles in MEDLINE and other sources. Selected full text articles available. Click the Find Full Text button with the Normandale logo to see if the full text of the article is available in another database.

4. Therapeutic Supporter. Looking at emotional support field (therapist, social worker, etc.), research effects of being part of the sandwich generation, as well as help you can provide, from a psychological viewpoint.

PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource
PsycARTICLES logoProvides "full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists."

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.


5. Referral Specialist. Look at resources--businesses, groups, technology, living situations, or anything else tangible--for the sandwich generation in Minnesota. What is available to people in MN right now? For support services, what are the costs, what do they do, and who do they help?

Minnesota Government links:
Minnesota Help - Look at Child Care and Family Support Services links
Minnesota Social Services 
Minnesota Department of Human Services 
Hennepin County Child Care License



 
Online Class: Bronfenbrenner's Model
For the online version of PSYC 2210, you will need to find 1 peer-reviewed article that uses Bronfenbrenner's bioecological model.

Search these databases with these terms:
Bronfenbrenner bioecological model
Bronfenbrenner model
bioecological model
Bronfenbrenner microsystem (or mesosystem, exosystem, macrosystem, or chronosystem)

Remember to limit to peer-reviewed and full text (if options are available).

PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource
PsycARTICLES logoProvides "full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists."


PubMed/MEDLINE Unrestricted Resource
PubMed contains citations to articles in MEDLINE and other sources. Selected full text articles available. Click the Find Full Text button with the Normandale logo to see if the full text of the article is available in another database.


ERIC (EBSCOhost) Restricted Resource
ERIC logoERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents.


JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
What do scholarly articles look like?
Scholarly articles have common attributes that are often represented with section headings, which are common sections of a research article. They can include: abstract, literature review, methods, summary, conclusion, discussion, bibliography, charts or graphs.

Scholarly articles are easy to spot because they are long, often contain no pictures, have lots of references, and are complex and in-depth.

Parts of a Research Article
  1. Abstract
    1. A summary of the article. ALWAYS read the abstract—it will tell you whether the article is relevant to your topic or not.
  2. Introduction
    1. Introduces the topic, gives context and history, demonstrates why it’s important.
  3. Methodology/Methods
    1. Detail how the experiment is conducted.
  4. Results
    1. Shows the basic results of the experiment.
  5. Discussion
    1. Interprets the results of the experiment and explains what they mean.
  6. Conclusion
    1. Summary of findings; where to go next with this kind of research.
  7. References
    1. A list of references/sources the authors use in the article.
Chose Keywords
The words you use to search for articles matter.

Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Luke Mosher

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
luke.d.mosher@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus