Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources for your Children's Literature or Young Adult Literature courses. Contact the Library if you need any research help.
Find Articles by Database
Search in the databases listed below to find articles on your Children's or Young Adult Literature topic. Each database contains thousands of full-text articles, so be prepared with some good search terms!

Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis) Restricted Resource
Artemis logoGale Literary Sources searches all these literature resources at once: Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Litfinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, Something About the Author Online, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
This literature database provides substantial information and criticism about many authors and their works. 

Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Project MuseProvides citations, abstracts, and full text to articles from journals that cover the "fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others".
This database has excellent resources on humanities topics.  Select "Literature" as a Research Area for best results. 

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.
This database of academic sources is useful for finding scholarly articles.  Limit your search by discipline (ex. Language & Literature or Edcuation) for best results. 

ERIC (EBSCOhost) Restricted Resource
ERIC logoERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents.
This education database is useful for finding articles about reading instruction, reading comprehension, and the use of literature in schools.

PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource
PsycARTICLES logoProvides "full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists."

This psychology database is useful for finding articles about child development, language acquisition, and other psychology-related topics. 
Find Articles by Journal Title
If you know the name of the journal you want to search, start by locating it in Normandale Library's Journal Finder to see where it is available. Need a suggestion? Try searching for one of the journals listed below.

Children's Literature "is the annual publication of the Modern Language Association Division on Children's Literature and the Children's Literature Association. Encouraging serious scholarship and research, Children's Literature publishes theoretically based articles that address key issues in the field."

Children's Literature in Education provides "critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience."

Horn Book "includes reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective and news of the children's book world."

The Lion and the Unicorn "is a theme- and genre-centered journal of international scope committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children. The journal's coverage includes the state of the publishing industry, regional authors, comparative studies of significant books and genres, new developments in theory, the art of illustration, the mass media, and popular culture."

Publisher's Weekly provides "news and analyses of book publishing for publishers, booksellers, agents, librarians, writers, educators and people involved in movies, radio and television."

School Library Journal  provides "news, information and reviews for librarians and media specialists who serve children and young adults in school and public libraries."
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


Picture Books Collection
Browse the Picture Books Collection in the Normandale Library Catalog. The collection consists of more than 1300 titles of award winning picture books.

Children's Literature Review
This e-book covers more than 600 writers and illustrators for children and young adults.  Entries provide list of major works, awards, criticism, and commentaries for each author.  The Library also has a print version of this title located in the Reference Collection (PN1009.A1 C5139).

 


Powered by SubjectsPlus