Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Explore Topics and Questions
Choosing a research question is a process of exploring what interests you. After choosing an initial topic, you may need to focus on just one small piece of it as you start your research. The key to choosing and researching any topic it to find something that is neither too broad or too narrow.

To help you understand the research cycle and how to choose an appropriate topic, watch this topic video from North Carolina State University Library.

As you think about research topics and the question you would like to answer, search in a library database to get more ideas:

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues such as immigration, abortion, animal rights, biomedical ethics, gun control, gangs, homelessness, etc.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.



Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
General Academic Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.


Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.
Additional Library Resources
ProQuest News and Newspapers (Advanced Search) Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. ​

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


Combined Search Unrestricted Resource

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 

 
Still stuck? The Library has lots of databases . Try looking in this list for more options:

Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
Researching
Developing Keywords
Business Databases
Business Collection Restricted Resource
Business Collection Business Collection contains over 4,000 business newspapers and trade publications covering areas such as accounting, economics, finance, and marketing.


Business Insights: Essentials (Article Search) Restricted Resource
Business Insights: Essentials logoBusiness Insights: Essentials provides access to full-text articles in many business newspapers and trade publications.


Regional Business News Restricted Resource
Regional Business News logoProvides access to 75 full text business journals, newspapers and news wires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Freely Available Information and Databases
Minnesota Links to the World Unrestricted Resource
The Minnesota Legislative Reference Library compiled this list of links to Minnesota-based state agencies, nonprofits, advocacy groups, and other organizations by topic.

Guide Star
GuideStar gathers, organizes, and distributes information about U.S nonprofits.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

David Vrieze Daniels

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources - MLA and APA
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.




APA Quick Guide Unrestricted Resource
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.


APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue) Unrestricted Resource
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus