Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your Nursing classes.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles by Database
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Restricted Resource
CINAHL PlusSearch 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937 covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and consumer health. CINAHL includes health care books, dissertations, standards of practice, and evidence-based care sheets.
Note: For more help using CINAHL, watch this video tutorial.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database Restricted Resource
Full text articles from over 900 nursing and allied health publications.
Note: For more help using the ProQuest database, watch this video tutorial.

Medical Database (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Contains over 1,000 titles, with more than 910 medical titles in full text with abstracts and indexing from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE. Covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including cardiovascular diseases, pediatrics, neurology, respiratory diseases, dentistry, anesthesiology, and others. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, and photos.

Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.

Health & Wellness Resource Center Restricted Resource
Health and Wellness Resource Center logoProvides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles about all aspects of health. Includes articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and pamphlets as well as the following encyclopedias: * Clinical Reference Systems * Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence * Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine * PDR Family Guide to Nutrition and Health
 

Need more options? The library has many more health-related databases. Use this link to find more databases to search:
Nursing & Allied Health Databases
Full list of Normandale Library's Nursing and Allied Heath Databases
Find Articles by Journal Title
Journal Title Search

If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.

 


Examples:
American Journal of Nursing
MedSurg Nursing
Journal of Community Nursing
Nursing Management

**Hint: Select "Title contains all words" and search Nursing to find all journals that contain the word Nursing in the title.**
Find Articles in Print Journals
The Normandale library subscribes to the following nursing journals in print:

American Journal of Nursing
Journal of Nursing Education
Nursing
Nursing Research

Browse these journals for articles and topic ideas.


The library also has additional, older nursing journals. To find more print journals, use the library catalog. Use the advanced search, set the format to periodical, set the drop-down to subject, and search 'nursing'.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 


**Hint: to find specific articles from any of these journals, try the Journal Finder above and seach online.**
Research Reminders
  • Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several of these databases to find all the information you need.
  • If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Developing a list of keywords before you start searching in a database will help your research. Think about your topic. What are the keywords? What are synonyms for those keywords? What are other, related words? Make a list of words and then mix and match them in the databases to help you find articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.

Watch this video from Northeastern Illinois Univeristy to learn more about why you should use the library and not Google:


This video from California State University at San Bernardino provides tips on choosing a research topic:

Choosing a Manageable Research Topic 




Watch these videos for more tips on developing keywords:
Building Keywords, from Northwestern University



How to Improve Your Search Terms, from Brock University
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 


Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Understanding Research Studies
Use these links to learn more about different types of research studies:

Understanding Research Study Designs. From the University of Minnesota

Study Design 101. From George Washington University.
Related Guides
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.
Cite Your Sources
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Find Web Resources
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.

Minnesota Department of Health
Find health information in Minnesota. Covers local organizations and data, as well as many health issues and information.

Agency for Health Research and Quality
Find information about healthcare services from the US Department of Health and Human services. Click on Research Tools & Data to find Evidence-Based Reports.
Find Clinical Practice Guidelines
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A database of publicly available, evidence-based, clinical practice guidelines from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
Find MeSH Headings
From the National Library of Medicine, the definition of MeSH Terms: MeSH is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus. The MeSH thesaurus is used by NLM for indexing articles for the MEDLINE/PubMED®.

This controlled vocabulary is also used by most of the medical reseaerch databases for article indexing. Knowing the MeSH terms for your topic will greatly benefit your searching.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/mesh


Powered by SubjectsPlus