Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Background Information
Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica) Restricted Resource
Encyclopedia BritannicaOnline version of the complete Encyclopædia Britannica providing coverage of most subjects. Also provides access to Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Collegiate Thesaurus, and the Britannica Book of the Year.


Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources. Included are sources on American history, world history, historical events and periods, biographies, and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
Find Articles or Books

Find Articles

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Need more options? Try a different database to find more articles.
Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
 

Find Books

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Research Reminders
Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several of these databases and search options mentioned above to find all the information you need.

The following resources cover using keywords and evaluating sources for credibility.

Choosing and Using Keywords



CAPPS- Guidelines for evlaauting resources
CAPPS Downloadable PDF pdf
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

David Vrieze Daniels

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

 
Oral Citations
In the same way that you cite courses for a paper, you should cite your sources when speaking in public. Since you can't hand your audience a bibiliogrpahy after your speech, you will need to give credit to your source while speaking.

If you are directly quoting one of your sources, or more generally using words, information, or ideas that come from one of your sources, you must give an oral citation. If you are able, inlude additional information that helps to establish the credibility of your source, such as an author's experience and credentials, or the impact of a book or journal.

Your citation should inlude:
Author
Title (book, journal/magazine, web site, etc.)
Date (a website might only have the last date that it was updated rather than a publication date- that is ok)

Examples:

Noriko Osami, in her article from the March 21, 2018 of the premier science journal Nature defines...

In his James Beard Award-winning essay for food journalism, Mayukh Sen described...

On the page about Corn facts dated 2018, the Minnesota Corn Grower's Association's map of corn production totals shows...





 


Powered by SubjectsPlus