Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your Dental Hygiene classes.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Background Information
Use these paper books and e-books to help you define terms and find background information.

Salem Health Restricted Resource
Salem logoOnline database that accompanies printed versions of Magill's Medical Guide (Sixth Edition), Complementary & Alternative Medicine, Genetics & Inherited Conditions, Infectious Diseases & Conditions, and Psychology & Mental Health series.

Health & Medicine E-book Collection Restricted Resource
This collection of e-books contains full text coverage of medical encyclopedias, disease/disorder fact books, and other reference materials.

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine Restricted Resource
Includes information on more than 1,700 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Find Articles: Databases
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Restricted Resource
CINAHL PlusSearch 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937 covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and consumer health. CINAHL includes health care books, dissertations, standards of practice, and evidence-based care sheets.

ScienceDirect College Ed.: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection Restricted Resource
Science DirectThe Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection offers leading literature online in the health and life sciences, including health and nursing professions, biology, and environmental sciences.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database Restricted Resource
Full text articles from over 900 nursing and allied health publications.

Medical Database (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Contains over 1,000 titles, with more than 910 medical titles in full text with abstracts and indexing from the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE. Covers all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including cardiovascular diseases, pediatrics, neurology, respiratory diseases, dentistry, anesthesiology, and others. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, and photos.
Open Access Databases
PubMed/MEDLINE
PubMed is made possible by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), and National Institutes of Health (NIH). Access to the database is free and contains over 15 million citations from biomedical and health science journals. Available are citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles about "medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences."
Cochrane Library
Cochrane Library provides access to six databases through one search interface. Not all articles have full-text available; you can request those articles through Normandale Library's interlibrary loan service.
Find Articles: Journals
Journal Title Search

If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.

 

 

Open Access Journals
These journals offer their content for free online. Browse the current issue or look in the archive for past articles. Normandale Library also carries print copies of some of these titles.
 
Combined Search
Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 

Tip: Check the "Expand My Results" box to see citations for articles you can request through interlibrary loan (ILL).
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

librarian Lacey
Lacey Mamak
Electronic Resources/
Reference & Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Related Guide
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.

Blank Request Form (StarID login)

Cite Your Sources
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Find Web Resources
American Dental Association

American Dental Hygienists' Association

Colgate Website
"Oral Care Information" tab contains an array of news, videos, and articles.

Dental Care Website (Crest + Oral B)


Health Science Center of the University of Texas
A database of Critically Appraised Topics (CATS) related to clinical dental hygeine from the University of Texas School of Dentistry at San Antonio. 

Minnesota Dental Association (MDA)

Minnesota Dental Hygienists' Association (MnDHA)

Minnesota State Board of Dentistry (MSBOD)

National Center for Dental Hygiene Research and Practice (NCDHRP)
"Promote[s] the health of the public by fostering the development, implementation and dissemination of oral health research; establishing an infrastructure to support dental hygiene research; and, strengthening the scientific foundation for the discipline of dental hygiene."

National Dental Practice-Based Research Network
"A consortium of participating practices and dental organizations committed to advancing knowledge of dental practice and ways to improve it."


Powered by SubjectsPlus