Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Nursing Fatigue
Your paper topic is occupational fatigue in nursing. When you search the databases, try using combinations of these search terms:

Nursing occupational fatigue OR nurse occupational fatigue
Nursing compassion fatigue OR nurse compassion fatigue
Nursing burnout OR nurse burnout
Find Books
A book is a great option for your non-web resource. Use the library catalog to search for a book.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Find Articles
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Restricted Resource
CINAHL PlusSearch 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937 covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and consumer health. CINAHL includes health care books, dissertations, standards of practice, and evidence-based care sheets.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database Restricted Resource
Full text articles from over 900 nursing and allied health publications.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource
Health Source Nursing/Academic EditionProvides access to nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource
Consumer Health CompleteCHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. Provides full text for more than 200 health reference books and encyclopedias.


Alt HealthWatch Restricted Resource
Alt Health WatchProvides full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports covering complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Center for Complementary and Integrative Health Unrestricted Resource
From the NIH and a subset of Medline, the Complementary and Integrative Health (CCIH) indexes publications in all areas of alternative medicine, traditional as well as Western, 1996 to the present, from the Medline database.
Note: 1966 - present.

Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices (modalities), exercises, and medical conditions.
 
Resources on Education
ERIC (EBSCOhost) Restricted Resource
ERIC logoERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents.

Educator's Reference Complete Restricted Resource
Educator's Reference Complete logoA selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.



 
Researching Insurance Coverage
Researching which insurance providers cover complimentary and integrative can be tricky, since there is no one tool to compare complimentary health policies side-by-side. However, there are some useful tools and resources you can use to get more information.

Here is a link to a study published in 2016 that contains some great statistics about the number of US adults using complimentary therapies, as well as the type of paymetn they used. PDF download is available as well. NCHS Data Brief 235 pdf

The National Center for Complimentary and Integrative Health also publishes  some great information about paying for complimentary therapies, as well as good questions to ask your insurance carrier.

If you want to know exactly what an insurance provider covers, you will need to search their website for that information, or contact them directly. You can also use healthcare.gov website to look at different types of policies and coverage as well (you won't need to create an account or apply for coverage to be able to preview plans). I entered made-up information for my birthdate, etc. since I just wanted to look at available plans for research purposes.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

Luke Mosher
Library Faculty - Reference and Instruction
luke.mosher@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.

APA Style Blog
The APA Style blog is a great resource for citation help. The experts on the blog cover citations for unusual sources, as well as sources from the ever-evolving Internet and social media landscape that may not yet be relfected in the print version of the APA manual.
 
Find Web Resources
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.

Minnesota Department of Health
Find health information in Minnesota. Covers local organizations and data, as well as many health issues and information.

Agency for Health Research and Quality
Find information about healthcare services from the US Department of Health and Human services. Click on Research Tools & Data to find Evidence-Based Reports.


Powered by SubjectsPlus