Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Introduction
Finding data and statistics takes time. Be patient!

The resources on this page are only starting points. Start here and keep exploring.
Find Government Statistics
Many government websites include demographic and other statistics:

American Community Survey (ACS)
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides vital information on a yearly basis about our nation and its people. It includes information about jobs and occupations, educational attainment, veterans, whether people own or rent their home, and more. Click on Data on the left.

American FactFinder
Provides data supplied by the United States Census Bureau on housing, employment, demographics, business/industry and more.  Use the Guided Search.

USA.gov
On USA.gov, you can search millions of web pages from federal and state governments, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories. Most of these pages are not available on commercial websites. USA.gov has the most comprehensive search of government anywhere on the Internet.

Alternatively, find the government department that relates to your topic:
Find Data in Library Databases
For demographic and social issues data:

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues such as immigration, abortion, animal rights, biomedical ethics, gun control, gangs, homelessness, etc. Click on 'Advanced Search'. Type your topic in the search boxes and select Statistics under Content Type.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
CQCQ Researcher reports provide "in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy." Each CQ Researcher report is researched and written by a journalist and includes a "background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources." Use the search box or use the Browse Issues and Browse Reports at the top. After you find a report, look at the bibliography for more sources.

For business and industry statistics and data:

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
Business Source PremierBusiness Source Premier covers all aspects of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics, industry and market research reports. 4,500 titles indexed with over 3,600 available with full text. Includes peer-reviewed, scholarly publications, searchable references; trade journals, and monographs.
Find Statistics in Library Books
Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF HA202 .A3822 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. compiles statistics on the social, political, and economic aspects of life in the United States. This resource is published every February and covers the previous year.

Statesman's Yearbook
REF JA51 .S7 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
statesmans yearbook coverThe Statesman's Yearbook profiles of all the states of the world. Each profile provides an overview of a country's history, government, economy, and culture.
Find International Statistics
UN Data -- Statistical data collected by the United Nations.

World Health Organization -- Health related information from around the world.

International Monetary Fund -- Trade and economic information. Click on Research.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
 

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Other Sources for Data
Pew Research Center -- Research on many current issues.

Minnesota Resources - Guide containing links to Minnesota-related information and data.
 


Powered by SubjectsPlus