Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Find Background Information
Dictionary of American History
REF E174 .D52 2003 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Dictionary of American History Image An encyclopedia of terms, places, and concepts in U.S. History. For biographical information, consult the American National Biography.


Encyclopedia of African American History,1896 to the present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century
REF E185 .E533 2009 5v. Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape.

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
REF HN57 .E538 2004 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Examines every social movement in American history, covering each movement's goals, tactics, and impact, as well as its successes and failures.

 
Extremist Groups: Information for Students
REF HN90.R3 E98 2006 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
This book provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. The focus is on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilan efforts to counter them.
IInfo dInformation for Students provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. Arranged alphabetically by group across two volumes, entries average 32,000 words, follow a standard set of rubrics, and focus on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilian efforts to counter them. - See more at: http://www.cengage.com/search/productOverview.do?Ntt=extremist+groups||21064377414577205068384629551033655593&N=197&Ntk=APG%7C%7CP_EPI&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial#sthash.yTFsDFjW.dpuf
ffffInformation for Students provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. Arranged alphabetically by group across two volumes, entries average 32,000 words, follow a standard set of rubrics, and focus on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilian efforts to counter them. - See more at: http://www.cengage.com/search/productOverview.do?Ntt=extremist+groups||21064377414577205068384629551033655593&N=197&Ntk=APG%7C%7CP_EPI&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial#sthash.yTFsDFjW.dpuf
Information for Students provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. Arranged alphabetically by group across two volumes, entries average 32,000 words, follow a standard set of rubrics, and focus on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilian efforts to counter them. - See more at: http://www.cengage.com/search/productOverview.do?Ntt=extremist+groups||21064377414577205068384629551033655593&N=197&Ntk=APG%7C%7CP_EPI&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial#sthash.yTFsDFjW.dpuf
Information for Students provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. Arranged alphabetically by group across two volumes, entries average 32,000 words, follow a standard set of rubrics, and focus on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilian efforts to counter them. - See more at: http://www.cengage.com/search/productOverview.do?Ntt=extremist+groups||21064377414577205068384629551033655593&N=197&Ntk=APG%7C%7CP_EPI&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial#sthash.yTFsDFjW.dpuf


 
New Encyclopedia of Judaism
REF BM50 .N49 2002 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements.



American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation
REF E184.A1 A6344 1997 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Moderate to lengthy essays on immigration, socio-cultural, and political aspects for every racial, national, and ethnic group in the United States. Each essay includes a brief bibliography.


 
Malcolm X Encyclopedia
REF E185.97.L5 M35 2002 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Over 500 essays discuss how Malcolm X affected the world in which he lived and how the influence of people, issues, and events shaped his development as an international figure.

 


Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica) Restricted Resource
Encyclopedia BritannicaOnline version of the complete Encyclopædia Britannica providing coverage of most subjects. Also provides access to Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Collegiate Thesaurus, and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Find Articles
Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources. Included are sources on American history, world history, historical events and periods, biographies, and more.


Daily Life through History Restricted Resource
Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.

New York Times -- Historical (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Full pages and article Images/library displayed in PDF format. Seachable full text back to the first issue.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus