Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles
Library databases search for articles. Use these databases to find articles on your topic. Each databases searches different articles. If you have trouble finding articles, you might want to try a different database.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues such as immigration, abortion, animal rights, biomedical ethics, gun control, gangs, homelessness, gambling, homosexuality, human rights, Islam, the Middle East, and racism.
 
  • Click on Browse Issues at the top to find issues that relate to your topic.
  • Consider looking at: Human Genetics, Designer Babies, Genetic Disorders, Genetic Testing, Genetic Engineering.
  • Each page will then have articles separated by type: academic, newspaper, etc.
  • Click on a type of publication to see the list of articles and search within the list.

General Science Collection Restricted Resource
General Science CollectionA collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
 
  • Use the search box to enter your search terms.
  • After searching, select the type of resource (academic, magazine, newspaper) on the left or use the search within box to narrow your results.

ScienceDirect College Ed.: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection Restricted Resource
Science DirectThe Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection offers leading literature online in the health and life sciences, including health and nursing professions, biology, and environmental sciences.
 
  • Use Advanced Search.
  • Add search terms to the boxes. You can also select a discipline from the list in Advanced Search.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
 
  • Includes many types of articles on many topics.
  • Use multiple keywords or search terms in the search boxes.
  • After searching, use the filters on the left to select full-text, type of article, or a subject.

Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
Find Documentary Films
Use Films on Demand to look for documentary films on your topic.

Films On Demand Restricted Resource
Films on DemandFilms On Demand is a streaming video service containing documentaries and other educational films on many different topics. 

Search Films on Demand

Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Research Tips
A few things about performing research with library databases:
  • Develop a list of keywords or search terms. This should include the main words of your topic as well as synonyms and related words. Library databases are looking for the specific word you type in and changing your search terms will help you find more articles.
  • If you are getting too many results when you search, your search is probably too broad. Try adding more keywords to make your search more specific.
  • If you're not finding enough articles, your search is probably too narrow. Try changing or subtracting a keyword.
  • Always look at the options in a database. You can filter by: date, subject, etc. These things might be in different places in each database but they are always there.
  • Ask a librarian if you get stuck! :)


Powered by SubjectsPlus