Books & Films
The suggested subject headings listed below link you to a list of books and films available at the Normandale Library. Books can be located on the shelves by call number. Streaming videos can be viewed directly from your computer or mobile device.
- Atomic bomb
- Hiroshima-shi (Japan) > History > Bombardment, 1945
- Nagasaki-shi (Japan) > History > Bombardment, 1945
A collection of e-books covering both American and world history topics. In the "Search within Collection" box on the right side of the screen, type a key word or phrase, such as "atomic bomb."
Search by key word or phrase (example: atomic bomb AND decision). You may also choose to limit the historical time period or to full text.
Salem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources. Included are sources on American history, world history, historical events and periods, biographies, and more. Select the title Defining Documents in American History: World War II; this volume has primary sources and analyses related to the atomic bomb.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream. Click on Advanced Search to search by date and read newspaper articles written during 1945.
Selected Primary Source CollectionsPrimary sources can also be found in books!
- Defining Documents in American History: The 1910s ebook
- American Decades: Primary Sources, 1910-1919 ebook
- Defining Documents in American History: The Emergence of Modern America, 1874-1917 ebook
- NAACP founding selected documents/photographs
- The Crisis magazine archive
- Suffragists: From Tea Parties to Prison transcripts of interviews with five suffragists
- Crusade for the Vote exhibit
- National American Woman Suffrage Association selected documents/photographs
- Catt Collection women's suffrage photographs
- The Masses magazine archive
- Index to The Masses by topic and name (use to find issue date of relevant articles)
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Find books on suffrage, labor movements, bohemian culture, W.E.B. DuBois, etc. Primary sources are often included within secondary book sources!
Full page and full article images from the New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 to 4 years ago. Full indexing is available for articles, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.
- Clip: Golden Years of the Bohemians, from the film Greenwich Village Writers: The Bohemian Legacy
- Clip: Early Twentieth Century Theater in Greenwich Village, from the film Village Radicals, New Americans, Boom & Crash
- Film: No More Corsets: The New Woman
- Film: Early Civil Rights: Washington or Du Bois?
- Clip: Ida B. Wells in the Suffragist Movement, from the film Ida B. Wells: A Passion for Justice
- Historical Encylopedia of American Labor
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
- Chapters from History in Dispute:
Video by John M. Pfau Library, California State University--San Bernardino
Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!(952) 358-8290
Reference & Instruction Librarian
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
The Chicago style of citation uses numbered notes; either footnotes, which appear at the bottom of each page, or endnotes, which appear at the end of the paper.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.