Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find resources for the Portfolio 3 & 4 research assignments.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Background Information
Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Find Business Information
Find industry profiles, market share reports, and business news:
Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource
  • Select "Industries," then "All Industries."
  • Locate your industry area by searching by keyword.
  • If you cannot locate your industry, search for its 6-digit NAICS code.
  • Obtain revenue information, market share reports, and industry essays.  Link to other articles about the industry.
Business E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
This collection of e-books provides business, industry, and company information from encyclopedias, dictionaries, business fact books, and other reference materials.
  • See Business Plans Handbook
  • See Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Find Demographic Information
Find data using information from the US Census:
American FactFinder
  • Select "Guided Search" or "Advanced Search."
  • Find statistical information to help inform your business plan (ex. average income of a community, number of similar businesses in a given city)
Minnesota Compass
Minnesota Compass logo and linkMinnesota Compass is a data and statistics project that measures progress in Minnesota and its regions, counties, and cities in areas such as education, economy and workforce, health, housing, and public safety.
Find information using state or city sources:

Minnesota.gov
Minnesota.gov logoMinnesota.gov, formerly known as Northstar, is the state of Minnesota's web portal. It links to all the Minnesota state agencies, the governor, and legislature. There is lots of local and state information. Minnesota City Websites
League of Minnesota Cities logoThe League of Minnesota Cities keeps a database of city contact information. Select your city of interest from the list, click "Search," and click on the city name to display the web address of the official city website.
Tip: In general, city websites follow the web address format www.ci.city-name.mn.us.

Minnesota Links to the World
The Minnesota Legislative Reference Library compiled this list of links to Minnesota-based state agencies, nonprofits, advocacy groups, and other organizations by topic.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 


Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Evaluating Websites
evaluating information posterPut websites you are considering using in your research assignments through the CRAP test!

CRAP Test form: Use this form to help you quickly evaluate the credibility of any website.

C = Currency

R = Reliability

A = Authority

P = Purpose

Poster by Dianne McKenzie


Powered by SubjectsPlus