Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.


 


Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.




 
Choose a Topic
Choosing a research topic can take a bit of trial and error. After choosing a topic, you may need to refine it as you start your research. The key to choosing and researching any topic it to find something that is neither too broad or too narrow. If your topic is too broad, you may find too many articles and books. If your topic is too narrow, you may not find enough research.

To help you understand the research cycle and how to choose an appropriate topic, watch the video below from North Carolina State University Library.

Types of Periodicals

Scholarly Journal

Also called "peer-reviewed," is the latest research from experts. The articles in these journals are often very specific, complex and include substantial bibliographies. The research has been reviewed by a committee of experts for validity and impact before publication.

Popular Periodicals

Magazine and newspaper articles, also called "popular press" are written for the general public in a relatively short, easy-to-read format without bibliographies. Because of these aspects, the articles are usually very general and are overviews of events or topics. If you need timely, recent information news and magazine articles are a great place to go.

Ask a Librarian *
Questions? Ask us! Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
Rebecca Hranj
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
rebecca.hranj@normandale.edu
Office: L2721

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources!
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.


Powered by SubjectsPlus