Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Background Information
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Find Articles
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.
Find Statistics

Use the following resources to help you find statistics for your speech:

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides full-text articles and reference material on wide range of social issues such as immigration, abortion, animal rights, biomedical ethics, gun control, gangs, homelessness, gambling, homosexuality, human rights, Islam, the Middle East, and racism.
To find Statistics. click on 'Advanced' next to the search box. Type in your keywords and select 'Statistics' from the Content Type list.

American FactFinder
Provides data supplied by the United States Census Bureau on housing, employment, demographics, business/industry and more.   Use the guided search for best results.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF HA202 .A3822 Check MnPALS Catalog for Location and Availability
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. compiles statistics on the social, political, and economic aspects of life in the United States. This resource is published every February and covers the previous year.

For local statistics:

Minnesota State Demographic Center
Demographic Center logo and linkThis Minnesota government website provides access to statistics about social, economic, and demographic conditions in Minnesota. You can search for data by topic or location.
 

Find Books
Use the library catalog to find books in the library.
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Find Local Information
If your speech includes local information, you may want to try a Minnesota database to find more information:

Minnesota Databases
Library databases focused on Minnesota information.
Research Reminders

Research Reminders

  • Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may need to do multiple searches or read some background information about your topic before contining to search.
  • If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.
Choosing a Manageable Research Topic




Choosing and Using Keywords




Choosing a Topic Is Research

Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email


Mike Rybak

Library Faculty - Electronic Resources/ Reference & Instruction
mike.rybak@normandale.edu

 


Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).


Powered by SubjectsPlus