Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Biological Plagues in History
To find information on your historical plague, start by looking for information in one of these places:

History E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Restricted Resource
A collection of e-books covering both American and world history topics.


Ancient & Medieval History Restricted Resource
Ancient and Medieval HistoryCovering prehistory through the 1500s, Ancient and Medieval History provides coverage of nine civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and Islamic Empire. This database also features biographies, original maps and charts, timelines, and primary sources.

Health & Medicine E-book Collection Restricted Resource
This collection of e-books contains full text coverage of medical encyclopedias, disease/disorder fact books, and other reference materials.

Daily Life through History Restricted Resource
Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.
 

Remember to try searching by using different keywords:
  • the name of the plague
  • the geographic region in which it occurred
  • alternative names for the disease
  • the symptoms
  • the time period
Tropical Diseases
Use these resources to find information on your tropical disease and its effects on the poor.

Article from WHO: Resucing the bottom billion through control of neglected tropical diseases



Find Disease Overviews:

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
 



Find Information on Countries and Health:

World Health Organization: Use the search box or click on Health Topics in the blue bar.

CountryWatch Country Reviews Restricted Resource
Country Watch logo and linkAn up-to-date source of information on countries of the world. CountryWatch provides both basic statistic and in-depth information on political and social conditions. Click on Select Country in the top right.

 
For Both Assignments
If you need additional sources for either assignment, try one of these:

Books

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 

 

Articles

Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 



 
Google vs. the Library
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
 
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus