Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles
Literature Databases (Great for literature overall, should have a lot of information about various contexts)

Salem Literature Restricted Resource
Salem LiteratureThe Salem Literature provides full-text reference coverage of literary themes and prominent authors, as well as analyses of notable books and poetry. ,


Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis) Restricted Resource
Artemis logoGale Literary Sources searches all these literature resources at once: Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Litfinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, Something About the Author Online, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. ,

Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Project MuseProvides citations, abstracts, and full text to articles from journals that cover the "fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others". ​

Other Literature Databases
If you are having trouble finding materials in these three databases you can also check our other literature databases.



General Databases:
All topics, all kinds of articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.


Google Scholar Restricted Resource

Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Click on "Full-Text @ NCC Library" to locate the item through the Normandale Library subscriptions. Only items for which Normandale Library has a current subscription will be available for free.

Note: When accessing from off campus, you will be directed to log into the library site before with your StarID and password before you can search in Google Scholar.



 
Search the Library Catalog
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Combined Search

Combined Search

Library Combined Search searches many article databases, online journals, and the Normandale Community College Library catalog.

 

 

Research Reminders
Picking a Research Topic
Narrowing down your research topic makes your research easier and increases your ability to persuade your audience. As you begin researching, look for opportunities to narrow your research question.




Choosing and Using Keywords
If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.



Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several library databases to find all the information you need.
 
Databases
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

David Vrieze Daniels

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf
Keyword Development Worksheet
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

OSLIS Citation Maker


Powered by SubjectsPlus