Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Choosing Keywords
Use keywords based on your topic to search the database. Make sure that you have alternate terms, synonyms, and similar topics in mind when searching the databases, so you can mix and match your keywords when searching. 

For this extra-credit assignment, you’ll be finding an article that relates biology or an element of the scientific process to your major. This means you will be searching for a biology/science concept a concept from your major. For example, if you were majoring in communications, you might look at how the scientific method is applied to journalism.

Watch this video about brainstorming keywords and searching the databases.

Finding Articles
Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.

Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource
Expanded Academic ASAPExpanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage on a wide range of topics including social sciences, humanities, education, science and technology, current events, and international news. Over three thousand periodical titles are indexed, and over 2,000 of them include full-text articles.

ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.

Combined Search Unrestricted Resource

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 



Individual Publications
Journal Title Search Unrestricted Resource

If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.

 


Here's the online records for a few publications you might look in to find articles. Look for a a link or search box that says something like "Search within this publication":

Scientific American
Nature
Science (via JSTOR, 1880-2012)
Science (via publication website, 1997-present)
Smithsonian
Popular Science
Discover
The New Yorker
The Scientist
Science News
National Geographic 
The New York Times


 
Ask a Librarian
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 
 


Luke Mosher
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
luke.mosher@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf


Powered by SubjectsPlus