Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf
Why Should I Trust This?

 

1. Check fact-checking Sites
2. Go upstream from the source
  • Can we find the original source? 
  • What does the article say about where it got its information? 
  • Is the source taken out of context?
  • Does the source even exist?

3. Read Laterally
  • What can you find out about the news site the information is posted on? (Is there a Wikipedia page that talks about the site?)
  • What do you know about the author of the article? (Does the author have a Wikipedia page?)
  • What can you find out about the original source of the information? (Do other known and trusted news sites confirm what is reported in your article?_


Tips for Spotting Fake News
Find Articles
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) Restricted Resource
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) provides full-text articles and reference material on a wide range of social issues.


CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
CQCQ Researcher report is dedicated to a single topic and is researched and written by a journalist. Each report includes background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of further reading.


Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.


JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.



Academic OneFile (Gale) Restricted Resource
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.
 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email


David Vrieze Daniels
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian
We're here to help!
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Developing Keywords


Powered by SubjectsPlus