Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Open Access (Free) Sources of Information
Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Public Library of Science
The Public Library of Science (PLOS) is a nonprofit organization to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.  

How Stuff Works

Scientific American

ScienceNews: Magazine of the Society for Science and the Public
A news magazine and website that cover important and emerging research in all fields of science.
Find an Article from a Major News Org
ProQuest News & Newspapers Restricted Resource
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. and international newspapers. Includes the former ProQuest Newsstand collection, now named Global Newsstream.

Newsbank Access World News Restricted Resource
Newsbank logo​Newsbank World provides full-text access to thousands of newspapers from around the world. Users can limit searches to publications from particular regions or countries.

InfoTrac Newsstand Restricted Resource
InfoTrac Newsstand InfoTrac Newsstand contains full-text articles from over 1,000 newspapers in the United States and around the world.


Library Combined Search
Combined Search Unrestricted Resource

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 
Extra Credit: Find the Scientific Study.
1. Gather as much information as you can. 
  • Do you know the author of the study?
  • Do you know the title of the study?
  • Do you know the year it was published? Are there any clues ("According to a study published a couple of years ago" or "a study that was just published")?  If not use the year the (news article or popular science article was published. It has to be before that year.

2. Search Academic Search Premier for the study use the information from above to locate it

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

3. Can't find it in Academic Search Premier? Try to find it in Google Scholar:

Google Scholar Restricted Resource

Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Click on "Full-Text @ NCC Library" to locate the item through the Normandale Library subscriptions. Only items for which Normandale Library has a current subscription will be available for free.

Note: When accessing from off campus, you will be directed to log into the library site before with your StarID and password before you can search in Google Scholar.




 
Research Reminders
Choosing and Using Keywords
If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.



Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several library databases to find all the information you need.
 
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

David Vrieze Daniels

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu


Libby Merrill
Library Faculty - Circulation, Reference & Instruction
libby.merrill@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf
Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.


Powered by SubjectsPlus