Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research materials/ secondary sources for your essay assignment.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Articles
You will need four secondary sources for your essay. Remember, a secondary source = an article that talks about another source, which is considered a primary source. In this context. the novel is the primary source and ANY article that discusses the novel is a secondary source.

Reference Databases - Encyclopedia articles on older/classic novels and authors.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library logoGale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text e-books that includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.


Salem Literature Restricted Resource
Salem LiteratureThe Salem Literature provides full-text reference coverage of literary themes and prominent authors, as well as analyses of notable books and poetry.



Article Databases - Articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals - all kinds of novels.


Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis) Restricted Resource
Artemis logoGale Literary Sources searches all these literature resources at once: Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Litfinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, Something About the Author Online, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.


Academic Journals Only - Articles with in-depth analysis 


JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains the complete backfiles of over 625 scholarly journals with well over 3 million articles available. Full text coverage varies by journal.


Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Project MuseProvides citations, abstracts, and full text to articles from journals that cover the "fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others".

Combined Search - Searches everything, books + databases - good for new novels.

Combined Search Unrestricted Resource

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 



 
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 
Developing Keywords
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

 

David Vrieze Daniels

Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
Integrating Quotes and Avoiding Plagiarism
Avoiding Plagiarism (U of WI Madison)
Quoting, paraphrasing, and avoiding plagiarism. Guide includes helpful examples.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf


Powered by SubjectsPlus