Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
TimeWarp: The Network Era
NOTE: To search within an encyclopedia, make sure you search “within this publication.” You will only be able to do this search from the Table of Contents page for an encyclopedia.



Television in American Society
This encyclopedia covers the history of television and how it has changed our society.
Volume 1: Almanac: General topics. TOpics such as sports, news, cable television and more have their own entries. There are also entries on decades.
Volume 2: Biographies: Biographies of important people (actors, producers, directors, etc.) in the history of television.
Volume 3: Primary Sources: Entries about important documents in the history of television such as speeches or government regulations.



American Decades
This encyclopedia covers important events of the 20th century. Each volume covers a signle decade and is divided by topic, like sports and fashion. Each decade will have an entry on "Media," which is where you'll find TV info. Note: Click "choose a volume" to choose a decade.


The Decades in America
This encyclopedia also covers important events, people, and topics of the 20th century, divided by decade. Each decade has an article on television just called "Television." Click on the year to go to the Television entry for that year.
1950s (note: 1950s opens to the encyclopedia--scroll down to entries on "Television")
1960s
1970s
1980s


American Decades Primary Sources
This eBook covers the 20th century by decade. It contains primary sources (usually newspaper reporting) from each decade on a variety of topics. The article on "The Media" during your decade will relate to TV. NOTE: Click "Choose a volume" to select your decade. ALSO NOTE: Some primary documents (newspaper clippings) will only be available in the print version of this encyclopedia in the library, in the reference section at E169.1 .A64752 2004.


Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms: Pop Culture of the 20th and 21st Century America: This encyclopedia covers pop culture over the 20th and 21st century, organized by decade. Each decade has an article about TV called "TV and Radio." NOTE: click "Choose a volume" to select your decade.
Summaries and Analysis of TV Shows

Websites with Articles About TV Shows

HOW TO: Search for your TV show by the title of the show. If the title is multiple words, put the title in quotation marks. For example: "Big Little Lies."
If needed, also try adding:
  • Name of network (HBO, Netflix, Cartoon Network, etc.)
  • Genre (anime, reality, comedy, cartoon)
  • Terms tv show, tv series, show, series
  • Terms review, recap, season review, interview

New York Times Television Section

REGISTER FIRST! To get unrestricted access to NewYorkTimes.com through the Normandale Library, create an account using your Normandale email address, register for a yearly pass, and log in using your new account information to the NewYorkTimes.com website. Access expires after one year and must be renewed. Follow the Instructions to Create Account & Register.



NPR's Television Section
Includes analysis, interviews, and reviews of TV shows; also searchable via "SEARCH" in the menu bar.

Google News
Google search of news and culture websites. Type in the title of a TV show and it should appear as a "topic" you can click on. Especially good for more obscure shows and newer shows. Try to find articles on the above 2 websites first, before looking here.

 

Websites Collecting Reviews of TV Shows

HOW TO: In these websites, find your show by searching for the title of the show. On the webpage for a show, look for links to reviews by TV critics. Use critic reviews, NOT user reviews. See the Visual instructions pdf for using these review sites.

Rotten Tomatoes - TV reviews link
Only use critic reviews!

MetaCritic Television Reviews
Reviews from the top TV and movie critics pulled together on one site. 

Only use critic reviews!

Internet Movie Database (IMDb) Look for "Critic" under the Reviews section to find articles by TV critics.

AV Club's TV Club - this links to a list of TV shows, reviewed by episodes.
You can also search the site to find TV analysis, reviews, interviews, and news.

 

Videos About TV Shows

WARNING: There are lots of TV show reviews and discussions on YouTube. If you use videos as sources, be very picky. Pay attention to the name of the posting account, the quality of the video production, the number of views, and number of channel subscribers.

Because content quality on YouTube varies wildly, find articles at the sites recommended above BEFORE using YouTube.
 
YouTube – Use only after using all links above.
Topic Overviews from Books and Encyclopedias

Additional Sources

You may want to include information on a topic discussed on your TV show. For example, The Leftovers is about the rapture, and The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina is about witchcraft. You can search those topics in the Combined Search below.

HOW TO: The Combined Search finds books and articles available through the library. After you search, filter to see only Books and Reference Entries  (encyclopedia articles). Both provide good topic overviews.

Combined Search

Library Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

 
MLA Citation Help

Citing Television Shows

How to Cite TV Shows (OWL at Purdue)
Scroll down to Television Shows.
 

Citing Web Pages

Citations for web pages follow this format:

Author Last Name, First Name. “Title of Web Page.” Title of Website, publication date Day 3-letter abbreviated Month Year, URL. Accessed [date you found the web page Day 3-letter abbreviated Month Year].

Example:

VanDerWerff, Todd. “The Leftovers is One of the Best TV Shows Ever Made.” Vox, 5 June 2017,
www.vox.com/culture/2017/6/5/15730378/the-leftovers-finale-review-best-series-ever. Accessed 18 Apr. 2019.
 

Citing YouTube Videos

Citations for YouTube videos follow this format:

Creator Last Name, First Name. "Title of YouTube Video." YouTube, uploaded by [Name of YouTube Channel], date of upload as Day 3-letter abbreviated Month Year, URL.

Note: if you can't tell from the video who the author is, leave the author info off the citation and start citation with the title.

YouTube video with no author info provided:

"Why The Leftovers Ending is Perfect." YouTube, uploaded by JumpTheShark, 2 July 2018, www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9bUJztSQuE.

YouTube video with an author:

Parkinson, Bailey and Jay Peardon. "The Leftovers Season 3 Review (The Greatest TV Season Ever?)." YouTube, uploaded by Breaking Banter, 6 Aug. 2017, www.youtube.com/watch?v=FsXauOhNj_8.

 


More Citation Help

MLA Quick Guide
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!
Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email

Luke Mosher
Reference & Instruction Librarian
luke.mosher@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate your Sources. Put sources you are considering using in your research assignments through CAPPS.

Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf
Annotated Bibliography Help
Annotated bibliographies are different than a standard bibliography or works cited page. Annotated bibliographies contain additional information about each source to help a reader contextualize a source or allow the writer to state how and why a source is useful.

Sample Annotations from Purdue OWL
 


Powered by SubjectsPlus