Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Minnesota Information

General Information:

Minnesota County Websites
The Association of Minnesota Counties keeps this up-to-date list of links to county websites.

Minnesota City Websites
League of Minnesota Cities logoThe League of Minnesota Cities keeps a database of city contact information. Select your city of interest from the list, click "Search," and click on the city name to display the web address of the official city website.

Minnesota.gov
Minnesota.gov logoMinnesota.gov, formerly known as Northstar, is the state of Minnesota's web portal. It links to all the Minnesota state agencies, the governor, and legislature. There is lots of local and state information.
 

Historical Information:

Minnesota History Research Guides
This list of common Minnesota history topics compiled by the Minnesota Historical Society includes links to suggested primary and secondary sources for each topic. 

Minnesota Historical Society: Collections Online
A searchable database of photographs, art and posters covering Minnesota history.


 

Additional Information:

MNopedia
An online encyclopedia of Minnesota.

Minnesota Links to the World
The Minnesota Legislative Reference Library compiled this list of links to Minnesota-based state agencies, nonprofits, advocacy groups, and other organizations by topic.

Need more options? Try Minnesota Databases
Library databases focused on Minnesota information.
Find Minnesota Maps and Images


Maps:

True North
An educational Geographic Information System (GIS) with more than 250 digital map layers and direct links to related historic resources. Add layers of data to maps. From the Minnesota Historical Society.

Atlas of Minnesota Online Edition
From the Minnesota Center for Rural Policy and Development. These maps provide data for Social and Economic Characteristics of Minnesota.


Images:

Minnesota Historical Society: Collections Online
A searchable database of photographs, art and posters covering Minnesota history.

Minnesota Reflections
Minnesota Reflections, a product of the Minnesota Digital Library, contains more than 80,000 Images/library, maps, and documents from more than 125 of the state's cultural heritage organizations, offering resources on Minnesota history and geography.
Find Minnesota Statistics
Minnesota State Demographic Center
Demographic Center logo and linkThis Minnesota government website provides access to statistics about social, economic, and demographic conditions in Minnesota. You can search for data by topic or location.

Minnesota Compass
Minnesota Compass logo and linkMinnesota Compass is a data and statistics project that measures progress in Minnesota and its regions, counties, and cities in areas such as education, economy and workforce, health, housing, and public safety.

Compare Minnesota
Allows a user to compare Minnesota with other states in 10 areas having to do with business climate and development: Proven performance, business-friendly climate, renowned work ethic, excellence in education, fertile ground for innovation, best in business, foundations of commerce, global competitor, wealth of resources, and most livable state.
Note: 2007-

Minnesota Department of Health - Data
The Minnesota Public Health Data Access portal at the Minnesota Department of Health includes statistics by topic and region, including interactive county profiles with environmental and health data (cancer, immunization, air quality, etc.) for each county in Minnesota.
Find Minnesota Newspapers
Local newspapers are a great source for local information. Use these newspaper databases to read newspapers from around the state.

Minnesota Sources (Newsbank) Restricted Resource
A collection of close to 100 news sources from around the state including newspapers, videos, web-only content and journalistic blogs. After you open the database, select the newspapers from the region you are researching.

Minneapolis Star Tribune (Newsbank) Restricted Resource
Local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.

St. Paul Pioneer Press (Newsbank) Restricted Resource
Local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
Note: 1988-

MinnPost
MinnPost.com provides news and analysis Monday through Friday, based on reporting by professional journalists, most of whom have decades of experience in the Twin Cities media. The site features high-quality video and audio, as well as written stories. It also includes commentary pieces from the community, and comments from readers on individual stories. The site will not endorse candidates for office or publish unsigned editorials representing an institutional position. We encourage broad-ranging, civil discussion from many points of view.

MN Sun Community Newspapers
This page for ECM Publishers lists the websites for the Sun and other community newspapers. 

Southwest Journal
Newspaper for southwest Minneapolis.

Southwest News Media
News for the southwest suburbs.

Twin Cities Daily Planet
Twin Cities Daily Planet logoNonprofit news website that publishes original articles and republishes selected articles from community newspapers and blogs. Articles are usually written by volunteer citizen journalists.

fedgazette
Federal Reserve of Minneapolis logoThis bimonthly newspaper published by The Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis focuses on business and economic issues in Ninth District states (Minnesota, Montana, North and South Dakota, Michigan's Upper Peninsula and northwestern Wisconsin).

Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub - BETA
A collection of digitized Minnesota newspapers provided by the Minnesota Historical Society. The years covered vary but most are from the 19th century.
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us!Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email



Chat with a Librarian 24/7
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.


Powered by SubjectsPlus