Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Contact the Library if you need any help!
The key to researching is using the right words. You will mix and match keywords to find articles. Every time you change your words, you will find different articles.
Some possible keywords for your research are:
For more information on keywords, watch these videos:
Some possible keywords for your research are:
- GAPDH
- glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate dehydrogenase
- the common name of your plant
- the scientific name of your plant
- cloning
- PCR
- plasmid
For more information on keywords, watch these videos:
Format of a Research Article video by University of Texas at San Antonio Library
Science Databases (Scholarly Articles, books/book chapters)
Science E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
This collection of reference e-books covers a broad range of science topics including biotechnology, chemistry, computer sciences, space sciences, and more.
ScienceDirect College Ed.: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection This database contains scholarly articles on the health and life sciences, including health and nursing professions, biology, and environmental sciences.
BioOne
Search and access full text and full image articles from over 60 scholarly journals about biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
General Science Collection
A collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
Medical Databases
PubMed/MEDLINE
PubMed contains citations to articles in MEDLINE and other sources. Some full text articles available. If full text is available for an article, a Normandale Full Text Online button will appear in the upper, right-hand corner. Click the button to view the full text of the article.
PubMed Central (PMC) PMC also contains citations to many biological and medical articles. If the article is not in full text, use the Journal Finder below to find the article.
(Note: Confused about the differences between PubMed, MEDLINE, and PMC? Read this fact sheet.)
Science E-book Collection (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
This collection of reference e-books covers a broad range of science topics including biotechnology, chemistry, computer sciences, space sciences, and more.
ScienceDirect College Ed.: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection
This database contains scholarly articles on the health and life sciences, including health and nursing professions, biology, and environmental sciences. BioOne
Search and access full text and full image articles from over 60 scholarly journals about biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. General Science Collection
A collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments. Medical Databases
PubMed/MEDLINE
PubMed contains citations to articles in MEDLINE and other sources. Some full text articles available. If full text is available for an article, a Normandale Full Text Online button will appear in the upper, right-hand corner. Click the button to view the full text of the article. PubMed Central (PMC) PMC also contains citations to many biological and medical articles. If the article is not in full text, use the Journal Finder below to find the article.
(Note: Confused about the differences between PubMed, MEDLINE, and PMC? Read this fact sheet.)
Ask Us Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Kristin Hall
Library Faculty - Reference & Instruction
Phone: 952-358-9146
Email: kristin.hall@normandale.edu
Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.