Normandale Community College

Normandale Community College

Welcome to Normandale Library
Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!
Find Reference Materials
Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica) Restricted Resource
Encyclopedia BritannicaOnline version of the complete Encyclopædia Britannica providing coverage of most subjects. Also provides access to Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Collegiate Thesaurus, and the Britannica Book of the Year.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.


Gale eBooks Restricted Resource
Gale eBooks logoGale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.  
Click on History on the left side to browse topics.

Daily Life through History Restricted Resource
Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.

A to Z the World Restricted Resource
A to Z the World logoCountry reports for 175 countries include basic geography and political information as well as descriptions of business culture, human rights and religious freedom information, and travel warnings.
Find Secondary Sources
To find secondary sources, search for your topic in the following article databases. 

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Academic OneFile (Gale) Restricted Resource
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.


JSTOR Restricted Resource
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.



Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Project MuseProvides full text articles from journals that cover literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
Find Primary Sources Using Library Databases
Artstor Restricted Resource
ARTstorArtstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.

Daily Life through History Restricted Resource
Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more. Primary Sources are found by using the options under the Filter+ option.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource
Ethnic News Watch provides full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. 1959 to the present day.

Films on Demand: Archival Footage and Newsreels Streaming video service. Sort from Oldest to Newest to find historical footage.

New York Times -- Historical (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Full pages and article Images/library displayed in PDF format. Seachable full text back to the first issue.


Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem logoSalem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources on American history and world history. Primary Sources can be found under the Defining Documents sections.
 
Find Primary Sources Using the General Web
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
Provides access to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

British Library Online Collection
Includes a wide variety of primary sources, including maps, books, and photographs.

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
Primary source material from 22 countries. Sites are sorted by country and listed chronologically. Available sources include letters, facsimilies of paintings and photographs, journals, and official documents.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
Digital collections of the libraries of major research universities.

Library of Congress
Provides access to many primary sources from American history, including maps, historic newspapers, manuscripts, and photographs.

Minnesota Reflections
Minnesota Reflections, a product of the Minnesota Digital Library, contains more than 80,000 Images/library, maps, and documents from more than 125 of the state's cultural heritage organizations, offering resources on Minnesota history and geography.

Minnesota Historical Society: Collections Online
A searchable database of photographs, art and posters covering Minnesota history.

Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub - BETA
A collection of digitized Minnesota newspapers provided by the Minnesota Historical Society. The years covered vary but most are from the 19th century.

World Digital Library
WDL makes available significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Developing Keywords
Research Reminders
Scholarly vs. Popular Sources
Ask a Librarian
Questions? Ask us! Ask Us

Call or e-mail a librarian if you need further research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

  Email


Libby Merrill
Library Faculty - Circulation, Reference & Instruction
libby.merrill@normandale.edu

Chat with a Librarian
We're here to help!
 

Your question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Use Library Resources Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS pdf

CAPPSQuestionsHandoutv3.pdf pdf
 
Cite Your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
Cite Your Sources (Chicago)
Chicago Quick Guide
A guide to Chicago-style citations (both footnote-bibliography and author-date). Each example shows a full note, shortened note, and bibliography entry.

 


Powered by SubjectsPlus